Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser (Perseus Digital Library, Tufts University)
Search Jstor's Images collection for examples of Roman temples, Roman houses, & Roman baths. Also, search “Rome” for drawings and plans. Narrow results using “Architecture and City Planning” & “Drawings and watercolors” classifications.
The classical orders (video, Khan Academy)
Electronic Resources for Classicists (Developed by Maria Pantelia, University of California, Irvine)
The Greek and Roman Gallery Online (The Fitzwilliam Museum, University of Cambridge)
Perseus Project (Vast full-text anthology & resource, from Tufts)
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites (Part of the Perseus Project)
Alcock, Susan E. & Robin Osborne, Classical archaeology, Blackwell Publishing, DE86 .C58 2007 (also available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Coarelli, Filippo, Rome and environs: an archaeological guide, University of California Press, DG62 .C623 2007 (also available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Hopkins, John North, The genesis of Roman architecture, Yale University Press, NA310 .H7595 2016
Kleiner, Fred S., A history of Roman art, Cengage Learning, N5760 .K54 2018
Marconi, Clemente (editor), The Oxford handbook of Greek and Roman art and architecture, Oxford University Press, N5630 .O94 2015
Smith, William & Eugene Lawrence, The history of Rome: from early times to the establishment of the Empire, Andrews UK Ltd., 2010 (via Ebook Central)
Boëthius, Axel, Etruscan and early Roman architecture, Penguin Books, NA300 .B63 1978
Borrelli, Federica & Maria Cristina Targia, The Etruscans: art, architecture, and history, J. Paul Getty Museum, N5750 .B6513 2004
Collis, John, European Iron Age, Routledge, 1984 (via Ebook Central)
De Grummond, Nancy Thomson & Erika Simon, Religion of the Etruscans, University of Texas Press, 2005 (via Ebook Central)
Thomas, Michael L. & Gretchen E. Meyers (editor), Monumentality in Etruscan and early Roman architecture, University of Texas Press, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Bernard, Seth, Building mid-Republican Rome: labor, architecture, and the urban economy, Oxford University Press, HT169.I8 B464 2018
Evans, Jane DeRose Evans (editor), A companion to the archaeology of the Roman Republic, John Wiley & Sons, 2013 (via Ebook Central)
Polybius, Histories (covering the 3rd to the 2nd centuries BCE)
Ball, Larry F., The Domus Aurea and the Roman architectural revolution, Cambridge University Press, NA320 .B35 2003
Beckmann, Martin, The Column of Marcus Aurelius: the genesis & meaning of a Roman imperial monument, University of North Carolina Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Boatwright, Mary Taliaferro, Hadrian and the Cities of the Roman Empire, Princeton University Press, DG295.B62 2000
Boëthius, Axel, The golden house of Nero: some aspects of Roman architecture, University of Michigan Press, NA310 .B63 1960
Favro, Diane G, et al (editors), Paradigm and progeny: Roman imperial architecture and its legacy, Journal of Roman Archaeology, NA310 .P37 2015
Stierlin, Henri, The Roman Empire, Taschen, NA310 .S74813 1996
Ward-Perkins, J. B., Roman Imperial Architecture, Yale University Books, NA310.W34
Yourcenar, Marguerite, Hadrian’s villa: between heaven and earth, Apeiron, DG70.T6 Y6813 2005
Bowersock, G. W. et al (editors), Interpreting late antiquity: essays on the postclassical world, Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, DE3 .I6 2001
Dey, Hendrik W., The Aurelian wall and the refashioning of imperial Rome, AD 271-855, Cambridge University Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Jones, Mark Wilson, “Genesis and mimesis: the design of the Arch of Constantine in Rome,” JSAH, March 2000, p.50-77 (via Jstor)
Anderson, James C., Roman architecture and society, Johns Hopkins University Press, NA2543.S6 A52 1997
Brendel, Otto, Prolegomena to the Study of Roman Art, Yale University Press, N5760 .B73 1979
Bussels, Stijn, The animated image: Roman theory on naturalism, vividness and divine power, De Gruyter, Inc., 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Horace, “Letter to Piso,” (aka “Ars poetica“ / “The Art of Poetry”)
Kantor, Kazovsky, Lola, Piranesi as interpreter of Roman architecture and the origins of his intellectual world, L.S. Olschki, N6923.P495 K36 2006
Pliny the Elder, Natural History, (Pliny’s encyclopedia covers many topics that modern readers would class as design: Book 34 discusses bronze work, Book 35 discusses painting, Book 36 discusses sculpture in marble)
Pollitt, J. J., The art of Rome c.753 B.C.-A.D. 337: sources and documents, Cambridge University Press, N5760 .P45 1983
Wilson Jones, Mark, Principles of Roman architecture, Yale University Press, NA310 .W55 2000
Campbell, Lily B., “The First Edition of Vitruvius,” Modern Philology, August 1931, p.107-110 (via Jstor)
Conant, Kenneth J., “The after-Life of Vitruvius in the Middle Ages,” JSAH, March 1968, p.33-38 (via JStor)
Dripps, Robert D., “Rethinking Vitruvius,” JAE, Winter 1987, p.19-20 (via Jstor)
Kanerva, Liisa, Between science & drawings: Renaissance architects on Vitruvius's educational ideas, Annales Academiae Scientiarum Fennicae, NA2706.I8 K36 2006
Krinsky, Carol Herselle, “Seventy-Eight Vitruvius Manuscripts,” Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, Vol.30, 1967, p.36-70 (via Jstor)
McEwen, Indra Kagis, Vitruvius: writing the body of architecture, MIT Press, NA2515 .M38 2003
Smith, Thomas Gordon, Vitruvius on Architecture, Monacelli Press, NA2515 .V61352 2003
Vitruvius, The ten books on architecture, Dover, NA2515.V73 1960
Vitruvius, On architecture, Harvard University Press, NA2515 .V6135 1931 v.1 (Granger translation)
Ackerman, James S., “The Tuscan/Rustic Order,” JSAH, March 1983, p.15-34 (via Jstor)
Hemsoll, David, “Palladio’s architectural orders: from practice to theory,” Architectural History, Vol.58, 2015, p.1-54 (Via Jstor)
Hersey, George L., ”Vitruvius and the Origins of the Orders,” Perspecta Vol.23, 1987, p.66-77 (via Jstor)
Onians, John, Bearers of meaning: the classical orders, Princeton University Press, NA2815 .O55 1988
Perrault Claude, Ordonnance for the five kinds of columns after the method of the ancients, Getty Center for the History of Art and the Humanities, NA2812 .P413 1993
Vitruvius, The ten books on architecture, Dover, NA2515.V73 1960 (See books 3 & 4)
Wilson Jones, Mark, Origins of classical architecture, Yale University Press, NA275 .W55 2014
Beck, Roger, Roman theatres: an architectural study, Oxford University Press, 2006 (via Ebook Central)
Izenour, George C., Roofed theaters of classical antiquity, Yale University Press, PA3201 .I97 1992 (Oversize)
Klee, Bruce B., “Three Gallo-Roman multi-purpose theatres,” Educational Theatre Journal, December 1975, p.516-520 (via Jstor)
Pearson, John, Arena, McGraw-Hill, DG68.1 .P4
Quennell, Peter, et al. (editors), Colosseum, Newsweek, DG68.1 .O4
Cerutti, Steven & L. Richardson, Jr., “Vitruvius on stage architecture,” JSAH, June 1989, p.172-179 (via Jstor)
Sear, Frank, Roman theatres: an architectural study, Oxford University Press, 2006 (via Ebook Central)
Weiss, Zeev, “Buildings for mass entertainment: tradition and innovation in Herodian construction,” Near Eastern Archaeology, June 2014, p.98-107 (via Jstor)
Biers, Jane, “Lavari est vivere: baths in Roman Corinth,” Corinth, Vol.20, 2003, p.303-319 (via Jstor)
DeForest, Dallas, “Emperors, baths, and public space: the imperial thermae in Rome’s late antique landscape,” in Perspecitves on public space in Rome, from antiquity to the present day, edited by Jan Gadeyne & Gregory Smith, Routledge, 2013, p.43-64 (via Ebook Central)
Kontokosta, Anne Hrychuk, “Building the Thermae Agrippae: private life, public space, and the politics of bathing in early imperial Rome,” American Journal of Archaeology, January 2019, p.45-77 (Downloadable PDF via journals.uchicago.edu)
MacDonald, William L. & Bernard M. Boyle, “The Small Baths at Hadrian's Villa,” JSAH, March 1980, p.5-27 (via Jstor)
Nielsen, Inge, Thermae et balnea: the architecture and cultural history of Roman public baths, Aarhus University Press, NA317 .N54 1993 vol. 1&2
“Bath; ancient Greece & Rome,” Oxford Art Online
Ward, Roy Bowen, “Women in Roman Baths,” Harvard Theological Review, April 1992, p.125-147 (via Jstor)
Yegül, Fikret K., “The Thermo-Mineral Complex at Baiae and De Balneis Puteolanis,” Art Bulletin, March 1996 (via Jstor)
Boatwright, Mary Taliaferro, Hadrian and the Cities of the Roman Empire, Princeton University Press, DG295.B62 2000
Burns, Thomas S. Burns & John W. Eadie (editors), Urban Centers and Rural Contexts in Late Antiquity, Michigan State University Press, 2001 (via Ebook Central)
Crouch, Dora P., Geology and settlement: Greco-Roman patterns, Oxford University Press, 2003 (via Ebook Central)
Kaiser, Alan, Roman urban street networks, Routledge, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Maccaulay, David, City: a story of Roman planning and construction, Houghton Mifflin, TA16 .M33
Ray, Laurence, et al, The city in the Roman West, c.250 BC-c.AD 250, Cambridge University Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Rykwert, Joseph, The Idea of a Town: the anthropology of urban form in Rome, Italy and the ancient world, Princeton University Press, HT166 .R94
Schwarting, Jon Michael, Rome: urban formation and transformation, Applied Research and Design Publishing, HT169.I82 R6685 2017
Von Blanckenhagen, Peter H., “The Imperial Fora,” JSAH, December 1954, p.21-26 (via Jstor)
Yegül, Fikret K., Roman architecture and urbanism: from the origins to late antiquity, Cambridge University Press, NA310 Y44 2018
Ball, Larry F. & John J. Dobbins, “Pompeii Forum project,” American Journal of Archaeology, July 2017, p.467-503 (PDF via journals.uchicago.edu)
Gardner Coates, Victoria C., et al, Antiquity recovered: the legacy of Pompeii and Herculaneum, J. Paul Getty Museum, DG70.P7 A73 2007
The Getty villa in Malibu (Based on the Villa dei Papiri, Herculaneum)
Grant, Michael, Cities of Vesuvius : Pompeii and Herculaneum, Penguin, DG70.P7 G7 1976
Jashemski, Wilhelmina, The Gardens of Pompeii, Caratzas Brothers, SB466.I82 P655
Kraus, Theodor, Pompeii and Herculaneum: the living cities of the dead, H.N. Abrams, N5769 .K7213
Wylie, William, Pompeii archive, Yale University Art Gallery, DG70.P7 W95 2018
Carandini, Andrea & Paolo Carafa (editors), The atlas of Ancient Rome: biography and portraits of the city, Princeton University Press, DG63 .A8513 2017 vols.1 & 2
Curran, John R., Pagan city and Christian capital: Rome in the fourth century, Oxford University Press, BR205.C87 2000
Digital Roman Forum (Part of HyperCities, UCLA)
Freeland, Frederick, Key to Rome, J. Paul Getty Museum, DG804 .V74 2006
Kaiser, Alan, Roman urban street networks, Routledge, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Royo, Manuel, “Omnis Caesareo cedit labor Amphitheatro, unum pro cunctis fama loquetur opus,” in Perspecitves on public space in Rome, from antiquity to the present day, edited by Jan Gadeyne & Gregory Smith, Routledge, 2013, p.15-41 (via Ebook Central)
Temple, Nicholas, Renovatio Urbis: architecture, urbanism, and ceremony in the Rome of Julius II, Routledge, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Topographical dictionary of ancient Rome
Watkins, David, The Roman Forum, Harvard University Press, 2009 (via Ebook Central)
Blake, Marion Elizabeth, Ancient Roman construction in Italy from prehistoric period to Augustus, Martino, DG67 .B55 2006
Crouch, Dora P., Geology and settlement: Greco-Roman patterns, Oxford University Press, 2003 (via Ebook Central)
Frontinus, The stratagems: the aqueducts of Rome, Harvard University Press, U101 .F78 1925 (Charles E. Bennett translation)
Hannah, Robert, et al, “Nero’s ‘solar’ kingship and the architecture of the Domus Aurea,” Numen, Vol.63, #5/6, 2016, p.511-524 (via Jstor)
Lancaster, Lynne C., Innovative vaulting in the architecture of the Roman Empire : 1st to 4th centuries CE, Cambridge University Press, NA310 .L36 2015
Lewis, M., J., T., Surveying instruments of Greece and Rome, Cambridge University Press, TA562 .L49 2001
MacDonald, William, “Some Implications of later Roman construction,” JSAH, Winter 1958, p.2-8 (via Jstor)
Mark, Robert & Paul Hutchinson, “On the structure of the Roman Pantheon,” Art Bulletin, March 1986, p.24-34 (via Jstor)
Staccioli, Romolo Augusto, Roads of the Romans, J. Paul Getty, TE79 .S6813 2003
Stein, Joshua G., Trajan’s hollow, Oro Editions, NA9340 .R8 S74 2019
Trianus (“The European portal of Roman engineering”)
Ulrich, Roger Bradley, Roman woodworking, Yale University Press, TH1111 .U47 2007
Wrightman, Greg, “The Imperial Fora of Rome: some design considerations,” JSAH, March 1997, p.64-88 (via Jstor)
Barton, Ian M., Roman domestic buildings, University of Exeter Press, NA310.R65 1996
Bergmann, Bettina, “The Roman House as Memory Theater,” Art Bulletin, June 1994, p.225-256 (via Jstor)
Clarke, John R., The houses of Roman Italy, 100 B.C.-A.D. 250: ritual, space, and decoration, University of California Press, NA324.C57 1991
MacDonald, William L., Hadrian’s villa and its legacy, Yale University Press, NA327.T5 M23 1995
Mazzoleni, Donatella, Domus: wall painting in the Roman house, J. Paul Getty Museum, ND2575 .M3913 2004
McKay, Alexander G., Houses, villas, and palaces in the Roman world, Johns Hopkins University Press, NA324 .M32 1998
Smith, J.T., Roman villas: a study in social structure, Routledge, NA335.E85 S65 1997
Storey, Glenn R., “The meaning of ‘insula’ in Roman residential terminology,” Memoirs of the American Academy in Rome, Vol.49, 2004, p.47-84 (via Jstor)
Storey, Glenn R., “The ‘skyscrapers’ of the ancient Roman world,” Latomus, January-March 2003, p.3-26 (via Jstor)
Boyd, Barbara Weiden, Brill’s companion to Ovid, Brill, 2001 (via Ebook Central)
Janson, Tore, et al, Natural History of Latin: The Story of the World's Most Successful Language, Oxford University Press, 2004 (via Ebook Central)
Larmour, David H. J. & Diana Spencer, Sites of Rome: Time, Space, Memory, Oxford University Press, 2007 (via Ebook Central)
Manuwald, Gesine, Roman Republican theatre: a history, Cambridge University Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Marcus Aurelius, Meditations, Penguin, B580 .H28 2006 (Martin Hammond translation)
Mellor, Ronald, The Roman historians, Routledge, 2002 (via Ebook Central)
Nicgorski, Walter, Cicero’s practical philosophy, University of Notre Dame Press, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Smith, R. Alden, Virgil, John Wiley & Sons, 2010 (via Ebook Central)
Beckmann, Martin, The Column of Marcus Aurelius: the genesis & meaning of a Roman imperial monument, University of North Carolina Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Davies, Penelope J. E., Death and the emperor: Roman imperial funerary monuments, from Augustus to Marcus Aurelius, Cambridge University Press, NB1875 .D38 2000
Packer, James E., The Forum of Trajan in Rome: a study of the monuments, University of California Press, Office-NA312 .P23 1997 Vols.1-3
Palmer, Robert E. A., “Studies of the Northern Campus Martius in Ancient Rome,” Transactions of the American Philosophical Society, Vol.80, #2, 1990, p.i–64 (via JSTOR)
Hannah, Robert & Giulio Magli, “The role of the sun in the Pantheon’s design and meaning,” Numen, Vol.58, #4, 2011, p.486-513 (via Jstor)
Joost-Gaugier, “The iconography of sacred space… the Roman Pantheon,” Artibus et Historiae, Vol.19, #38, 1998, p.21-42 (via Jstor)
Moormann, Eric D., Divine interiors: mural paintings in Greek and Roman sanctuaries, Amsterdam University Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Niederer, Frances J., “Temples converted into churches: the situation in Rome,” Church History, September 1953, p.175-180 (via Jstor)
Stamper, John W., The architecture of Roman temples: the republic to the middle empire, Cambridge University Press, NA323 .S73 2005
Yerkes, Carolyn, “The lost octagons of the Pantheon: images and evidence,” Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, Vol.77, 2014, p.115-143 (via Jstor)
Ben Khader, Aïcha Ben Abed, Tunisian mosaics: treasures from Roman Africa, Getty Conservation Institute, NA3770 .B44 2006
Davies, Penelope J. E., Death and the emperor: Roman imperial funerary monuments, from Augustus to Marcus Aurelius, Cambridge University Press, NB1875 .D38 2000
Henig, Martin, A Handbook of Roman Art: a comprehensive survey of all the arts of the Roman world, Cornell University Press, N5760.H36 1983 (Chapters 5-10)
Holliday, Peter J., “Roman Triumphal Painting,” Art Bulletin, March 1997, p.130-147 (via Jstor)
Phillips, Anthony, “The Topology of Roman Mosaic Mazes,” Leonardo, Vol.25, #3/4, 1992, p.321-329 (via Jstor)
Stewart, Peter, Roman art, Oxford University Press, N5760 .S66 2004
Thompson, Nancy L., Roman art: a resource for educators, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, N5760 .T56 2007
“Classicism,” Oxford Art Online
Fiction set in ancient Greece & Rome (Also movies, games & TV)
Mayor, Adrienne, “Bibliography of myths, legends, and popular beliefs of ancient Greece and Rome,” Folklore, April 2000, p.123-138 (via Jstor)
Nelson, Robert S., “Living on the Byzantine Borders of Western Art,” Gesta, Vol.35, #1, 1996, p.3-11 (via Jstor)
Pinto, John A., “Speaking ruins: travelers’ perceptions of ancient Rome,” SiteLINES: A Journal of Place, Spring 2016, p.3-5 (via Jstor)
Anderson, Christy, Renaissance architecture, Oxford University Press, NA510 .A54 2013
Blunt, Anthony, Art and Architecture in France 1500-1700, Yale UP, N6845.B59 1998
Eck, Caroline van, British architectural theory, 1540-1750, Ashgate, NA966 .B75 2003
Hemsoll, David, Emulating antiquity: Renaissance buildings from Brunelleschi to Michelangelo, Yale University Press, NA510 .H46 2019
Waters, Michael J., “Reviving antiquity with granite: spolia and the development of Roman Renaissance architecture,” Architectural History, Vol.59, 2016, p.149-179 (via Jstor)
Gros, Pierre, Palladio e l'antico, Marsilio, NA1123.P2 G76 2006
Hersey, George L., Architecture and geometry in the age of the Baroque, University of Chicago Press, NA956 .H47 2000
Robertson, Clare, “The classical tradition,” in The genius of Rome, 1592-1623, edited by Beverly Louise Brown, ND620 .G46 2001
Snodin, Michael & Nigel Llewellyn (editors), Baroque, 1620-1800: style in the age of magnificence, V & A Publishing, N6415.B3 A4 2009
Wittkower, Rudolf, “Principles of Palladio's Architecture,” Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, Vol.7, 1944, p.102-122 (via Jstor)
Cassanelli, Roberto, et al, Ruins of Ancient Rome: drawings of the Prix de Rome, 1786-1924, The J. Paul Getty Museum, Office-NA2695.F8 A25313 2002
“Classical & Contemporary,” (p. 427) and “The Continuity of Symbols” (p. 1116) in Art in theory, 1648-1815, edited by Charles Harrison, et al, Blackwell Publishers, N6490 .A78 2001
DeWitt, Lloyd, Thomas Jefferson, architect, Chrysler Museum of Art, NA737.J4 D49 2019
“French Neo-Classicism,” The Burlington Magazine, December 1975 (Theme issue via Jstor)
Getka-Kenig, Mikolaj, “The Palladian Bridge revisited: the imperial ideology of classicism and the architectural replication of a garden pavilion,” Garden History, Summer 2016, p.90-104 (via Jstor)
Kantor, Kazovsky, Lola, Piranesi as interpreter of Roman architecture and the origins of his intellectual world, L.S. Olschki, N6923.P495 K36 2006
Le Roy, David, The ruins of the most beautiful monuments of Greece, Getty Research Institute, NA270 .L413 2004
Middleton, R. D., “The Abbé de Cordemoy and the Graeco-Gothic ideal: a prelude to Romantic Classicism,” Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, July-December 1962, p.278-320 (via Jstor)
Pinto, John A., Speaking Ruins: Piranesi, architects and antiquity in eighteenth century Rome, University of Michigan Press, NA1120 .P56 2012
Rosenblum, Robert, “The origin of painting: a problem in the iconography of Romantic Classicism,” Art Bulletin, December 1957, p.279-290 (via Jstor)
Worsley, Giles, “The baseless Roman Doric column in mid-eighteenth-century English architecture,” Burlington Magazine, May 1986, p.328, 331-337, 339 (via Jstor)
Bloch, R. Howard, “Viollet-le-Duc’s ‘Republic of Architectural Art’: The Greco-Gothic revival and the building of modern France,” Perspecta, Vol.44, 2011, p.12-21, 192-195 (via Jstor)
Bullen, J. B., “The Romanesque revival in Britain, 1800-1840,” Architectural History, Vol.47, 2004, p.139-158 (via Jstor)
Egbert, Donald Drew, The Beaux-Arts tradition in French architecture, Princeton University Press, NA2320.F8 P373
Ferrari-Barassi, Elena, “Dance in ancient Roman representations, Canova’s works and their reproductions in engravings,” Music in Art, Spring/Fall 2015, p.45-78 (via Jstor)
Grieder, Josephine, “The search for the Neo-Grec in Second Empire Paris,” JSAH, June 2011, p.174-189 (via Jstor)
Hegel, G. W. F., “Of the Ideal of Classic Art,” (Lectures on Aesthetics, 1818-35)
Malamud, Margaret, “The imperial metropolis: ancient Rome in turn-of the-century New York,” Arion, Winter 2000, p.64-108 (via Jstor)
Mango, Cyril, “Byzantinism and Romantic Hellenism,” Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes, Vol.28, 1965, p.29-43 (via Jstor)
Bothwell, Stephanie E., Windsor Forum on Design Education, New Urban Press, NA2105.B68 2004
Deupi, Victor (editor), Transformation in classical architecture, Oscar Riera Ojeda Publishers, NA682.C55 T736 2018
Institute of Classical Architecture & Art
Jencks, Charles, Post-modern classicism: the new synthesis, Architectural Design, NA682.P67 P69
Jenkyns, Richard (editor), The legacy of Rome: a new appraisal, Oxford University Press, DG77 .L44 1992
Kolocotroni, Vassiliki, “Still life: Modernism’s turn to Greece,” Journal of Modern Literature, Winter 2012, p.1-24 (via Jstor)
Porphyrios, Demetri, Classicism is not a style, Architectural Design, NA680 .C584 1982
“The problem of Classicism: ideology and power,” Art Journal, Spring 1988 (Theme issue)
Sherer, Daniel, “Le Corbusier’s discovery of Palladio in 1922 and the Modernist transformation of the classical code,” Perspecta, Vol.35, 2004, p.20-39 (via Jstor)
