Abitare (in Italian and English)
Contract magazine (current and archived issues from January 2009 via contractdesign.com)
Domus (in Italian and English)
Frame: the international review of interior architecture and design (original articles published on the website)
Interior Design (digital companion to the hardcopy edition)
Interiors (digital edition)
Lighting Design Magazine (digital edition)
Wallpaper* (website publishes timely, original material distinct from the hardcopy magazine)
American Society for Interior Designers (ASID)
Contract magazine’s Products list
Designer Pages features products for architects and interior designers, including building and ceiling systems; flooring, furnishings, lighting, etc.
Illuminating Engineering Society offers conferences, workshops, and career development opportunities for emerging professionals.
Interior Design magazine for interior design research and information, and ProductFIND for lists of the latest furnishings and fixtures (by Interior Design Media)
Interior Design Educators Council, Inc. (IDEC)
Interior Design Society (IDS)
International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD)
International Federation of Interior Architects/Designers (IFI)
International Interior Design Association (IIDA) and IIDA Southern California Chapter
Materials Connexion database
National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ). Site includes information on the NCIDQ Certification exam.
Society of British and International Design (SBID)
U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
Caan, Shashi, Rethinking design and interiors: human beings in the built environment, Laurence King Publishing, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Havenhand, Lucinda Kaukas, “A Re-View from the Margin: Interior Design,” Design Issues 35, no. 1 (2019): 67–72 (Available via Jstor)
Lajer-Burcharth, Ewa & Beate Söntgen (editors), Interiors and interiority, De Gruyter, 2016 (Available via Ebook Central)
Marinic, Gregory (editor), The interior architecture theory reader, Routledge, NA2850 .I565 2018
McCarter, Robert, The Space Within : Interior Experience As the Origin of Architecture, Reaktion Books, Limited, 2016 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Pile, John F., A history of interior design, Wiley, NK1710 .P55 2000
Racknitz, Joseph Friedrich, A rare treatise on interior decoration and architecture: Joseph Friedrich zu Racknitz's presentation and history of the taste of the leading nations, The Getty Research Institute, NA3310 .R3313 2019
Sarnitz, August & Inge Scholz-Strasser (Editors), Private Utopia : Cultural Setting of the Interior in the 19th and 20th Century, De Gruyter, 2015 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Taylor, Mark, Intimus: interior design theory reader, Wiley, NK2113.I58 2006
Weinthal, Lois (editor), Toward a new interior: an anthology of interior design theory, Princeton Architectural Press, NA2850 .T69 2011
"What about the inside?" Harvard Design Magazine, Fall/Winter 2009-2009 (theme issue)
Ball, Victoria Kloss, Architecture and interior design: a basic history through the seventeenth century, Wiley, NA200 .B15
Brevik-Zender, Heidi, Fashioning Spaces : Mode and Modernity in Late-Nineteenth-Century Paris, University of Toronto Press, 2015 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
“Period room architecture in American art museums,” Winterthur Portfolio, Summer/Autumn 2012 (via JSTOR) (theme issue with e-articles)
Praz, Mario, An illustrated history of interior decoration: from Pompeii to art nouveau, Thames and Hudson, NK1710 .P713 1982
Sanger, Martha Frick Symington, The Henry Clay Frick houses: architecture, interiors, landscapes in the golden era, Monacelli Press, NA7207 .S26 2001
Betsky, Aaron & Gideon Fink Shapiro, 50 lessons to learn from Frank Lloyd Wright : break the box and other design ideas, Rizzoli, NA737.W7 B48 2021
Blaisse, Petra, Inside outside, Monacelli Press, NA1153.B538 A4 2009
Klanten, Robert, et al (editors), The sky’s the limit: applying radical architecture, Gestalten, NA687 .S597 2012
Kries, Mateo, Night fever: designing club culture, 1960-today, Vitra Design Museum, NK2195.N55 N54 2018
Kristal, Marc, RE: crafted: interpretations of craft in contemporary architecture and interiors, Monacelli Press, NA687 .K75 2010
Naredi-Rainer, Paul, Museum buildings: a design manual, Birkhäuser, NA6690.N37 2004
Penick, Monica, Tastemaker : Elizabeth Gordon, House Beautiful, and the postwar American home, Yale University Press, NK2004.P46 2017
Quinn, Bradley, Mid-century modern: interiors, furniture, design details, Conran Octopus, NK2395 .Q85 2004
Street-Porter, Tim, The Los Angeles house: decoration and design in America’s 20th century city, Clarkson Potter, NA7238.L6 S78 1995
Vaughan, John, Los Angeles: a certain style, Chronicle Books, NK2004 .V38 1995
Wang, Shaoqiang (editor), M2s: 360 interior design II, Sandu Publishing, NK1990 .M22 2009
Bielefeld, Bert (editor), Planning architecture: dimensions and typologies, Birkhäuser, NA2760 .A73313 2016
Ching, Frank, Interior design illustrated, John Wiley & Sons, NA2850 .C45 2018
Hausladen, Gerhard, Interiors construction manual: integrated planning, finishings and fitting-out, technical services, Birkhäuser, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Herrmann, Eva, et al, Furnishing/zoning: spaces, materials, fil-out, Birkhäuser, 2014, (via Ebook Central)
Kilmer, E. Otie, & Rosemary Kilmer, Construction drawings and details, Wiley & Sons, 2016 (via Ebook Central)
Leydecker, Sylvia, Designing interior architecture: concept, typology, material, construction, Birkhäuser, NA2850 .D475 2013
Plunkett, Drew, Construction and detailing for interior design, Laurence King Publishing, 2015 (via Ebook Central)
Travis, Stephanie, Sketching: for architecture & interior design, Laurence King Publishing, 2015 (via Ebook Central)
Calloway, Stephen, The elements of style: a practical encyclopedia of interior architectural details, from 1485 to the present, Simon and Schuster, NA2850 .E44 1996
Ching, Francis & Corky Binggeli, Interior design illustrated, Wiley, NA2850 .C45 2018
Detail Inspiration database
Kilmer, W. Otie & Rosemary Kilmer, Construction drawings and details for interiors: basic skills, Wiley & Sons, TH2031 .K54 2003
Plummer, Henry, The experience of architecture, Thames & Hudson, NA2840 .P58 2016
Plunkett, Drew, Construction and Detailing for Interior Design, 2nd edition, Laurence King Publishing, 2015 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Ching, Francis D. K. & Corky Binggeli, Interior design illustrated, 4th edition, Wiley, NA2850.C45 2018
McGowan, Maryrose & Kelsey Kruse, Interior graphic standards, John Wiley & Sons, TH2031 .M34 2003
Reznikoff, S. C., Interior graphic and design standards, Whitney Library of Design, NA2708.R49 1986
Rumbarger, Janet & Richard J. Vitullo (editors), Architectural graphic standards for residential construction, Wiley & Sons, TH2031 .A84254 2003
Anthes, Emily, The great indoors: the surprising science of how buildings shape our behavior, health and happiness, Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux, NA2850 .A58 2020
Busch, Akiko, Geography of home: writings on where we live, Princeton Architectural, NK2113 .B87x 1999
Hollis, Edward, The memory palace: a book of lost interiors, Counterpoint, 2014 (via Ebook Central)
Israel, Toby, Some place like home: using design psychology to create ideal places, Wiley-Academy, NA2542.4 I77 2003
Kleine, Holger, The drama of space : spatial sequences and compositions in architecture, De Gruyter, 2018 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
McCarter, Robert, The space within : interior experience as the origin of architecture, Reaktion Books, NA2765 .M378 2016
Meerwein, Gerhard, et al, Color: communication in architectural space, Birkhäuser Verlag, 2007 (via SpringerLink)
Myers, Jess, “Negotiating with the Collective Ear,” Journal of Architectural Education Vol.78, #1, 2024, p.75–81 (On sound and audiosocial space)
Rybczynski, Witold, Home: a short history of an idea, Viking Penguin, NA7125.R9 1986
Sarnitz, August & Inge Scholz-Strasser (editors), Private utopia: cultural setting of the interior in the 19th and 20th century, De Gruyter, 2015 (via Ebook Central)
Sloterdijk, Peter, “Spheres theory: talking to myself about the poetics of space,” Harvard Design Magazine, Spring/Summer 2009, p.126-137, 155
"Acoustic modernity", Grey Room, #60, Summer 2015 (Special issue available via Jstor)
"Acoustics", Leonardo Music Journal, volume 22, 2012 (Special issue available via Jstor)
Blesser, Barry & Linda-Ruth Salter, Spaces speak, are you listening?: experiencing aural architecture, MIT Press, QP443.B585 2007
Crocker, Malcolm J. (Editor), Encyclopedia of Acoustics, Wiley, QC221.5.E53 1997 (Volumes 1-4)
Ermann, Michael, Architectural Acoustics Illustrated, John Wiley & Sons, 2015 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Forsyth, Michael, "Acoustics", Grove Art Online, Oxford University Press, 2003
Fowler, Michael, Architectures of Sound : Acoustic Concepts and Parameters for Architectural Design, De Gruyter, 2017 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Grueneisen, Peter, Soundspace: architecture for sound and vision, Birkhäuser, NA737.S78A4 2003
Jaramillo, Ana M. & Chris Steel, Architectural acoustics, Routledge, NA2800.J37 2015
LaBelle, Brandon, Acoustic territories: sound culture and everyday life, Continuum, P96.S66L33 2010
Long, Marshall, Architectural acoustics, Elsevier/Academic Press, NA2800.L664 2006
Maor, Eli, Music by the numbers : from Pythagoras to Schoenberg, Princeton University Press, ML3805.M3 2018
Sumrell, Robert & Kazys Varnelis, “The stimulus progression: Muzak and the culture of horizontality,” Verb conditioning: architecture boogazine, Actar, NA687.C66 2005 (Office)
Thompson, Emily Ann, The soundscape of modernity: architectural acoustics and the culture of listening in America, 1900-1933, MIT Press, NA2800.T48 2000
Bechtold, Martin, et al, Ceramic material systems: in architecture and interior design, de Gruyter, 2015 (via Ebook Central)
Leydecker, Sylvia, Nano materials in architecture, interior architecture, and design, Birkhäuser, 2008 (via SpringerLink)
Materials Connexion database
Ritter, Axel, Smart materials in architecture, interior architecture and design, Birkhäuser, 2007 (via SpringerLink)
Schittich, Christian (editor), Interior surfaces and materials, aesthetics, technology, implementation, Birkhäuser, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Sullivan, C. C., “Innovations for architectural interiors,” Architectural Record, July 2013, p.148-150, 152, 154, 157
Ternaux, Elodie, Material World 3: innovative materials for architecture and design, Frame Publishers, TA403.6 .T475 2011
Ternaux, Elodie, et al., Materials encyclopedia for creatives, Birkhauser, TA402 .M38 2022
Tiggs, Rosemary J., Materials and components of interior architecture, Prentice-Hall, TA403 .R525 2003
Van Onna, Edwin, Material world: innovative structures and finishes for interiors, Birkhäuser; Frame Publishers, NA2850 .V36 2003
Ambler, Frances, Mid-century modern: icons of design, Thames & Hudson, NK1175 .A45 2018
Blakemore, Robbie G., History of interior design and furniture: from ancient Egypt to nineteenth-century Europe, Wiley, NK1710 .B57 1997
Jaquemart, Albert, Decorative Art, Parkstone International, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Leibrock, Cynthia, Design details for health: making the most of design’s healing potential, John Wiley, NK2195 .H43 L45 2011
Natale, Christopher, Furniture design and construction for the interior designer, Fairchild Books, TT196.N35 2009
Payne, Christopher (editor), Sotheby’s concise encyclopedia of furniture, Conran Octopus, NK2235 .S68 1994
Taft, Maggie, The chieftain and the chair : the rise of Danish design in postwar America, The University of Chicago Press, NK2585 .T34 2023
Arsenault, Peter J., “A look at what’s new in retail and hospitality design,” Architectural Record, August 2017, p.128, 130, 132, 134, 136-137
Farameh, Patrice & Martin Nicholas Kunz (editors), Luxury hotels: spa & wellness, teNeues, NK2195.H6L89 2006
Galindo, Michelle, Coffee time: contemporary cafes, Braun Publications, NA7855 .G35 2012
Kretschmar-Joehnk, Corinna, 101 hotel lobbies, bars & restaurants, Braun, NA7800 .K7413 2014
Plunkett, Drew, Detail in contemporary hotel design, Laurence King, NK2195 .H6 P59 2013
Cameron, Bob, Illumination and Decoration of Flat Surfaces, CSIRO Publishing, 2009 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Day, Gregory F., Interior lighting for designers, John Wiley & Sons, 2015 (via Ebook Central)
DeKay, Mark, Sun, wind & light: architectural design strategies, Wiley, NA2542.3 .D45 2014
Gordon, Gary, Interior Lighting for Designers, John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2015 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Isenstadt, Sandy, Electric light : an architectural history, MIT Press, TK4188.I84 2018
Longmore, James, "Lighting," Grove Art Online, Oxford University Press, 2003
Meyers, Victoria, Designing with light, Abbeville Press, NA2794 .M49 2006
Russell, Sage, The architecture of light: architectural lighting design concepts and techniques, Conceptnine Print Media, TH7703 .R87 2008
Sansoni, Paola, et al. (Editors), Sustainable Indoor Lighting, Springer, 2015 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Schittich, Christian, Interior spaces: space, light, materials, Birkhäuser, 2002 (via Ebook Central)
Steane, Mary Ann, The Architecture of Light : Recent Approaches to Designing with Natural Light, Taylor & Francis Group, 2011 (Available via ProQuest Ebook Central)
Albrecht, Donald & Chrysanthe B. Broikos (editors), On the job: design and the American office, Princeton Architectural Press, NK2195.O4 O5 2000
Bielefeld, Bert, Basics: Office design, Birkhäuser Verlag GmbH, NA6230.B54 2018
“Six design decisions your clients will thank you for,” Architect, October 2016, p.69-70
Schittich, Christian, Büro office, Edition Detail, NA6230 .B87 2013
Szenasy, Susan S. & M. Nacamulli, “A Place of Purpose: how workplace design helps workers find meaning,” Metropolis, November/December 2017
Woelk, Imke, The capital of social space, Technische Universität Berlin, NA2765 .W67 2000 v.1
Yee, Roger, Corporate interiors: no. 8, Visual Reference Publications, NK2195.O4 C672 2007
Zelinsky, Marilyn, The inspired workplace: interior designs for creativity & productivity, Rockport, NK2195 .O4 Z458 2002
Abascal, Macarena & Francesc Zamora Mola, Old houses made new, teNeues, NA7125 .A2215 2018
Bollack, Françoise Astorg, Old buildings, new forms: new directions in architectural transformations, Monacelli Press, NA105 .B65 2013
Forsyth, Michael, & Lisa White, Interior finishes & fittings for historic building conservation, Wiley Blackwell, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Giebeler, Georg, et al., Refurbishment manual: maintenance, conversions, extensions, Birkhäuser, 2009 (via Ebook Central)
Jäger, Frank Peter (editor), Old & new: design manual for revitalizing existing buildings, Birkhäuser, NA2793 .O43 2010 (also via Ebook Central)
Schittich, Christian (editor), Refurbishment, Edition Detail, TH3401 .S26 2015
Wong, Liliane, Adaptive reuse: extending the lives of buildings, Birkhäuser, TH3401 .W655 2017
Allen, Cindy, The best of residential: architecture and design, Sandow Media; Interior Design Magazine, NA4125.A425 2013
Jaworsky, Anja, Berlin apartments, teNeues, NA7863.G3 B47 2002
Sardar, Zahid, West Coast modern: architecture, interiors & design, Gibbs Smith, NA7225 .S27 2012
Mitton, Maureen & Courtney Nystuen, Residential interior design: a guide to planning spaces, Wiley & Sons, 2016 (via Ebook Central)
Nosé, Michiko Rico, Japan modern: new ideas for contemporary living, Periplus; Tuttle Publishing, NA2850 .N57 2000
Arsenault, Peter J., “A look at what’s new in retail and hospitality design,” Architectural Record, August 2017, p.128, 130, 132, 134, 136-137
Blokland, Tessa, Dress code: interior design for fashion shops, Birkhäuser, NK2195 .S89D74 2006
Bonda, Penny, Sustainable commercial interiors, Wiley & Sons, TH880.B66 2007
Ginko Press, Color and space in architecture and interior design, Ginko Press; Sandu Publishing, NA2795 .C635 2013
Woelk, Imke, The capital of social space, Technische Universität Berlin, NA2765 .W67 2000 v.2
Cline, Lydia Sloan Cline, SketchUP for interior design: 3D visualizing, designing, and space planning, 2014 (via Ebook Central)
Ginko Press, Color and space in architecture and interior design, Ginko Press; Sandu Publishing, NA2795 .C635 2013
Karlen, Mark & Rob Fleming, Space planning basics, Wiley & Sons, 2016 (via Ebook Central)
Mitton, Maureen & Courtney Nystuen, Residential interior design: a guide to planning spaces, Wiley & Sons, 2016 (via Ebook Central)
Smog Studio, Per-Johan Dahl & Caroline Dahl, LOFT P: tracing the architecture of the loft, Springer, NA7882 .L64 2012
Bergman, David, Sustainable design: a critical guide, Princeton Architectural Press, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Bonda, Penny, Sustainable commercial interiors, Wiley & Sons, 2007, TH880 .B66 2007
Foster, Kari, et al, Sustainable residential interiors, Wiley & Sons, 2014 (via Ebook Central)
Koones, Sheri, Prefabulous world: energy-efficient and sustainable homes around the globe, Abrams, TH4860 .K66 2014
Schneiderman, Deborah, Inside prefab: the ready-made interior, Princeton Architectural Press, NA2850 .S34 2012
Shah, Sunil, Sustainable refurbishment, Wiley-Blackwell, 2012 (via Ebook Central)
Uffelen, Chris van, Green, greener, greenest: facades, roofs, indoors, Braun, NA2542.36 .U34 2017
Watts, Andrew, Modern environmental design : a project primer for complex forms, Birkhäuser, NA2850 .W38 2022
Carlson, Gustave, Pacific modern : houses of northern California, Oro Editions, NA7235.C2C37 2018
Cygelman, Adele, Arthur Elrod : desert modern design, Gibbs Smith, NK2004.3.E55C94 2019
Sardar, Zahid, West Coast modern: architecture, interiors & design, Gibbs Smith, NA7225 .S27 2012
Saeks, Diane Dorrans, California interiors = Intérieurs Californiens, Taschen, NK2004 .S238 1999
Schifando, Peter & Jean H. Mathison, Class act : William Haines, legendary Hollywood decorator, Pointed Leaf Press, NK2004.3.H35A4 2005
Street-Porter, Tim, The Los Angeles house: decoration and design in America’s 20th century city, Clarkson Potter, NA7238.L6 S78 1995
Vaughan, John, Los Angeles: a certain style, Chronicle Books, NK2004 .V38 1995
Woods, Douglas, Classic homes of Los Angeles, Rizzoli, NA7238.L6 W66 2010
