Architectures of North America: pre-contact Indigenous: General resources

**Note: Arctic dwelling types: Barabara, Iglu, Kashim, Pole houses, Winter house

“Artic,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1787

Arctic Studies Center

Traditional Dwellings: Igloos (Library and Archives, Canada)

Habitations (Housing) of the Natives of Canada (Marianopolis College, Quebec)

Harrington, “Igloo,” Nest, #2, Fall 1998

Larmour, W. T., Inunnit: the art of the Canadian Eskimo, E99.E7 L3

Steltzer, Ulli, Building an igloo, E99.E7 S8235 1995

**Note: California dwelling types: Bark architecture, California earth lodge, California plank house, Fiber houses, Roundhouses

“Chumash Village” (Wishtoyo Chumash Foundation)

Heizer, Robert F., The California Indians: a source book, University of California Press, E78.C15 H4 1971

Heizer, Robert F., The natural world of the California Indians, University of California Press, E78.C15 H433

“West & Pacific,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1942

**Note: Great Basin dwelling types: Grass houses, Wickiups

“The Great Basin Tribes” (via nativeamericanroots.net)

“Wickiup” (via warpaths2peacepipes.com)

**Note: Great Plains dwelling types: Earthlodge, Grass house, Sweathouse, Tepee, Tipi

Blue Evening Star, Building Tipis & yurts: authentic designs for circular shelters, Lark, TH4870 .S73 1995

“High Plains,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1876

Laubin, Reginald, Indian Tipi, University of Oklahoma Press, E98.D9L3 1977

Oldershaw, Barbara, “Blackfeet American Indian women: builder of the tribe,” Places, 4.1, 1987, p.48-59

Roper, Donna C. & Elizabeth P. Pauls (editors), Plains earthlodges: ethnographic and archaeological perspectives, University of Alabama Press, 2005 (via Ebook Central)

**Note: Northeast / Great Lakes dwelling types: Longhouse, Wigwam

“Iroquois,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1841

“Mohawk Iroquois Longhouse” (New York State Museum)

**Note: Northwest Coast dwelling types: Plank houses, Shed houses

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest digital collection, University of Washington

“Haida,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1813

Holm, Bill, Northwest coast Indian art: an analysis of form, University of Washington Press, E78.N78 H6 (Updated edition available via Ebook Central)

**Note: the Northwest Plateau territories include the Interior of British Columbia, Canada, and inland regions of the United States Pacific Northwest. Northwest Plateau dwelling types: Mat house, Pit house, Tipi.

Gilson, Leland, "Houses: NE region", Oregon Archaeology (website last modified 2016)

Mills, Edward and Harold D. Kalman, "Pit House," The Canadian Encyclopedia, 28 April 2020

**Note: Southeast dwelling types: Chickee, Chukka house, Grass house, Wattle and daub house

ChoctawNationOK, "Chukka" (via YouTube, 8:04 minutes)

Lacquement, Cameron H., Architectural variability in the Southeast, University of Alabama Press, 2007 (via Ebook Central)

O’Connor, Mallory McCane, Lost cities of the ancient Southeast, University of Florida Press, E78.S65 O36 1995

“Seminole,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1916

The Seminole Chickee

“Wattle and Daub Houses: how Native Americans built their homes” (published by GPB Education via YouTube)

**Note: Southwest dwelling types: Hogan, Ki, Pueblo, Wickiup

Bruggmann, Maximilien, Pueblos: prehistoric Indian cultures of the Southwest, Facts on File, E99.P9 A2313 1990

Ellis, Reuben J., Stories and stone: writing the ancestral Pueblo homeland, University of Arizona Press, PS566 .S86 2004

Jett, Stephen C. & Virginia E. Spencer, Navajo architecture: forms, history, distributions, University of Arizona Press, E99.N3 J39

Johnson, Melvin & Diana Johnson, “The Anasazi Great House,” Perspecta #13/14, 1971, 366-371 (via Jstor)

Kelley, Klara B., Navajo sacred places, Indiana University Press, E99.N3 K3355 1994

Lekson, Stephen H., The architecture of Chaco Canyon, New Mexico, University of Utah Press, 2007 (via Ebook Central)

Mesa Verde National Park

Smith, Watson, Prehistoric kivas of Antelope Mesa, Harvard University, E51 .H337 Vol.39, #1

“Southwest,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, NA208.E53 1997 v.3, p. 1919

Virtual Reality Archaeology