The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) oversees the Architect Registration Exam (ARE), and provides a few free ARE resources to help prepare for the exam:
As of October 2018, the ARE 5.0 will reference Contract Documents (via AIA), and the 2015 International Building Code (fourth version, updated October 2021, via International Code Council).
In addition to the ARE 5.0, the California Architects Board requires the California Supplemental Examination (CSE) for licensure.
Board resources include:
PPI ARE 5. 0 Exam Review All Six Divisions, 2nd Edition - Comprehensive Review Manual for the NCARB ARE 5. 0 Exam by 
PPI ARE 5. 0 Practice Questions All Six Divisions, 2nd Edition - Comprehensive Practice for the NCARB 5. 0 Exam by 
PPI ARE 5. 0 Mock Exams All Six Divisions, 2nd Edition - Practice Exams for Each NCARB 5. 0 Exam Division by MADCAD publishes the latest building code publications, including International Code Council (ICC) (requires SCI-Arc user name & password)
2024 Code of Ethics & Professional Conduct (AIA)
Architectural Experience Program resources from the AIA and NCARB
California Department of Consumer Affairs, California Architects Board homepage
International Union of Architects (UIA), provides information about licensing and international practice requirements
NCARB homepage
American Institute of Architects, The architect's handbook of professional practice, 15th edition, Wiley, NA1996 .A726 2016
Chappell, David & Michael Dunn, The architect in practice, John Wiley & Sons, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Deutsch, Randy, BIM and integrated design: strategies for architectural practice, Wiley, 2011 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Wakita, Osamu A., et al., The professional practice of architectural working drawings, Wiley, NA2713 .W34 2023 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Allen, Edward & Joseph Iano, Fundamentals of building construction: materials and methods, Wiley, TH145 .A417 2019 (6th edition ebook available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Ching, Francis D. K., Building construction illustrated, John Wiley & Sons, TH146.C52 2014 (ebook also available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Simmons, H. Leslie, Olin's construction: principles, materials, and methods, Wiley, 2011 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Watts, Andrew, Modern construction handbook, Birkhäuser, TH151 .W376 2023 (2016 ebook edition available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Davies, Nikolas & Erkki Jokiniemi, Architect's illustrated pocket dictionary, Architectural, 2011 (available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Harris, Cyril M., Dictionary of architecture & construction, McGraw-Hill, NA31.H32 2006
Schmid, Karl F. (editor), Concise encyclopedia of construction terms and phrases, Momentum Press, 2013 (available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Ching, Francis D. K., Building codes illustrated: a guide to understanding the 2018 International Building Code, Wiley, TH420 .C49 2018
Geren, Ronald L., Applying the building code: step-by-step guidance for design and building professionals, Wiley, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Green, Melvyn, Building codes for existing and historic buildings, Wiley, 2011 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Rhoads, Marcela Abadi, The ADA companion guide: understanding the Americans With Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG) and the Architectural Barriers Act (ABA), John Wiley, KF5709.3 .H35 R48 2010
Bielefeld, Bert (editor), Basics: building technology, Birkhäuser Springer, TH6031.B37 2017
Binggeli, Corky, Building systems for interior designers, Wiley, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
DeKay, Mark, Sun, wind & light: architectural design strategies, Wiley, NA2542.3 .D45 2014
Grondzik, Walter T. & Alison G. Kwok, Mechanical and electrical equipment for buildings, John Wiley & Sons, TH6010 .S74 2019
Kibert, Charles J., Sustainable construction: green building design and delivery, John Wiley & Sons, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Koralturk, A. Togay, LEED Green Associate V4 exam, A. Togay Koralturk, TH880 .K672 2016
Lechner, Norbert, Heating, cooling, lighting: sustainable design methods for architects, John Wiley & Sons, 2015 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Bielefeld, Bert, Building contract, Birkhäuser, NA1996 .B5413 2018 (ebook also available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Brandt, Tim, Basics tendering, Birkhäuser, 2017 (ebook via Birkhäuser - De Gruyter Basics)
Construction Specifications Institute, The CSI construction product representation practice guide, John Wiley & Sons, 2013 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Ching, Francis & Ian M. Shapiro, Green building illustrated, Wiley, TH880 .C48 2014
Cottrell, Michelle, Guide to the LEED green associate V4 exam, John Wiley & Sons, 2014 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Koralturk, A. Togay, LEED Green Associate V4 exam, A. Togay Koralturk, TH880 .K672 2016
*Read information about the LEED V5 update, expected 2025, via usgbc.org
Descamps, Benoît, Computational design of lightweight structures, ISTE; Wiley, 2014 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Miller, Mark R. & Rex Miller, Audel carpenter's and builder's math, plans and specifications, Wiley Publications, 2005 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Bielefeld, Bert (editor), Architectural presentation, Birkhäuser Verlag AG, NA2714 .A68 2014
Karlen, Mark & Rob Fleming, Space planning basics, Wiley, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Kwok, Alison G., The green studio handbook: environmental strategies for schematic design, Elsevier Architectural Press, TH880 .K87 2011
DesignWorkshop, Landscape architecture documentation standards: principles, guidelines, and best practices, John Wiley & Sons, 2016 (ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Hack, Gary, Site planning: international practice, The MIT Press, NA2540.5 .H33 2018
LaGro, James A., Site analysis: informing context-sensitive and sustainable site planning and design, Wiley, 2013 (ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Strom, Steven, et al., Site engineering for landscape architects, John Wiley & Sons, 2013 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
American Planning Association, Planning and urban design standards, Wiley & Sons, TH2031.P55 2006
Hedges, Keith E. (editor), Architectural graphic standards, John Wiley & Sons, TH2031 .A84257 2017 (ebook also available via Proquest Ebook Central)
Kent, Janis, ADA in details: interpreting the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act Standards for Accessible Design, Wiley, 2017 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Rhoads, Marcela Abadi, Applying the ADA : Designing for The Americans with Disabilities Act Standards for Accessible Design in Multiple Building Types, Wiley, 2013 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Ambrose, James E. & Patrick Tripeny, Building structures, Wiley, TA658 .A49 2012
Ambrose, James E. & Patrick Tripeny, Simplified engineering for architects and builders, Wiley, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Descamps, Benoît, Computational design of lightweight structures, ISTE; Wiley, 2014 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Millais, Malcolm, Building structures: understanding the basics, Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, TH845 .M63 2017
Shaeffer, R. E., Elementary structures for architects and builders, Pearson Prentice Hall, TA645 .S479 2007
