Detail magazine’s online database includes detail design drawings and project descriptions of over 3000 significant buildings. The database is updated with new projects after every new print edition of Detail. All projects are available for download as PDFs.
Detail magazine’s online database includes detail design drawings and project descriptions of over 3000 significant buildings. The database is updated with new projects after every new print edition of DETAIL. All projects are available for download as PDFs.
An ebook library, providing access to over 140,000 books from over 425 publishers. There are extensive architecture resources (from MIT and Princeton Architectural Press). Also useful are the sciences and humanities titles (anthropology. business & economics, computers & it, education, fine arts. history. language & literature. law. life sciences. medicine. physical sciences. psychology. religion. social sciences and technology). The Ebrary Reader interface is clean and intuitive, but you will need to install it the first time you use it. Set up an individual account—all you need is an email address. This enables you to set up your personal online Bookshelf and print and download portions of books (when permitted). Tip: Ebrary Central ebooks can also be accessed through the Kappe Library book catalog records. Their call numbers end with “eb”, and they contain a URL beginning “ebookcentral…” that links directly to the ebook.
Jstor is a searchable database of more than two million downloadable, high-resolution images from 280 collections created by the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists plus articles from scholarly journals, with 4000 institutions and 500 publishers participating. The Kappe Library currently provides JStor Arts & Sciences Collections III, V, VII and XI, covering more than 900 journals. Tip: Be aware that most participating journals impose a 3- or 5-year delay before uploading content.
The Oxford Art Online is the place to start every new research project—especially when a topic is unfamiliar. Get concise, authoritative background and relevant links. It combines the Grove Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. All are searchable and regularly updated. Note: most articles appear text-only at first; click the "Images" tab to get illustrations.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the most comprehensive and practical reference for readers, writers, editors, designers, and publishers seeking clarification on formatting bibliographies, footnotes, creditting sources and preparing texts for publication.
