This is the "Home" page of the "Research technology & practice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jun 27, 2016 URL: http://library.sciarc.libguides.com/technologypractice Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected general resources

AIR
Carle, David. 2006. Introduction to air in California. Berkeley: University of California Press. TD883.145.C2 C37 2006
Croome, Derek J. 1997. Naturally ventilated buildings buildings for the senses, economy and society. London: E & FN Spon. (Ebrary e-book)
Lawson, Tom. 2001. Building aerodynamics. London: Imperial College Press. (Ebrary e-book)
 
THE BUILDING ENVELOPE
Brock, Linda. 2005. Designing the exterior wall: an architectural guide to the vertical envelope. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley. TH2235 .B76 2005
Ching, Frank, Barry Onouye, and Douglas Zuberbuhler. 2008. Building structures illustrated. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons. TH146 .C52 2008
Horowitz, Cara. 2011. Bright roofs, big city keeping L.A. cool through an aggressive cool-roof program. [Los Angeles, Calif.]: Emmett Center on Climate Change and the Environment, UCLA School of Law.
Journal of Architectural Engineering. Journal available via Ebscohost.
Knaack, Ulrich, and Tillmann Klein. 2008. The future envelope 1 a multidisciplinary approach. Amsterdam: IOS Press. (Ebrary e-book)
Knaack, Ulrich. 2007. Facades: principles of construction. Basel, Swizerland: Birkhaeuser. (SpringerLink e-book)
Schunck, Eberhard. 2003. Roof construction manual: pitched roofs. Basel: Birkhäuser. Office-TH2401 .R65 2003
Watts, Andrew. 2005. Modern construction facades. Wien: Springer. Reference-NA2840 .W34 2005
Watts, Andrew. 2011. Modern construction envelopes. New York: Springer. TH2231 .W388 2011
Weiler, Susan K., and Katrin Scholz-Barth. 2009. Green roof systems: a guide to the planning, design, and construction of landscapes over structure. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons. SB419.5 .W45 2009
Wigginton, Michael, and Jude Harris. 2002. Intelligent skins. Oxford: Butterworth-Heinemann. Office-TH6021 .W53 2002
 
CONSTRUCTION
Allen et al, Fundamentals of building construction: materials and methods, TH145 .A417 2009
Ambrose et al, Building Construction, TA658 .A49 2012
Schittish, Cost-effective building: economic concepts and constructions, TH437 .C678 2007
U. S. Green Building Council, New construction & major renovation reference guide version 2.2, TH6021 .N48 2007
 
ENERGY
Advances in Building Energy Research. Journal available via Ebscohost.
Beukers, Adriaan, and Ed van Hinte. 1999. Lightness: the inevitable renaissance of minimum energy structures. Rotterdam: 010 publishers. TA663 .B48 1999
Cangelli E, Fais L. Energy and environmental performance of tall buildings: state of the art. Advances In Building Energy Research. May 2012; 6:36-60. (Available via Ebsco Art & Architecture Complete)
Fernández-Galiano, Luis. 2000. Fire and memory: on architecture and energy. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press. NA2542.3 .F4713 2000
Gonzalo, Roberto, and Karl J. Habermann. 2006. Energy-efficient architecture: basics for planning and construction. Basel: Birkhäuser-Publishers for Architecture. TJ163.5.B84 G6613 2006
Kapsalaki M, Leal V. Recent progress on net zero energy buildings. Advances In Building Energy Research. May 2011;5 (1):129-162. (Available via Ebsco Art & Architecture Complete)
Rosser, Roselin E., and Philip Kerrigan. 2012. Performance evaluation of a hot-humid climate community. [Washington, D.C.]: U.S. Dept. of Energy, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, Building Technologies Program.
Vale, Brenda, and Robert James Dennis Vale. 2000. The new autonomous house: design and planning for sustainability. New York, N.Y.: Thames & Hudson. TH4815.V34 2000
 
SOLAR ENERGY
Guzowski, Mary. 2010. Towards zero-energy architecture: new solar design. London, U.K.: Laurence King. NA2542.S6 G89 2010
Watson, Andrea. 2012. Solar ready an overview of implementation practices. Golden, Colo: National Renewable Energy Laboratory.
 
HEAT
Blumberg, Mark Samuel. 2002. Body heat: temperature and life on earth. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press. QP-135 .B584 2002
Egan, M. David. 1975. Concepts in thermal comfort. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall. TH6021 .E4 1975
Heschong, Lisa. 1979. Thermal delight in architecture. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press. NA2541 .H47
Lechner, Norbert. 2001. Heating, cooling, lighting design methods for architects. New York: J. Wiley. TH7222 .L33 2001
Moe, Kiel. 2010. Thermally active surfaces in architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press. TA418.52 .M64 2010
Tuohy et al. Twenty first century standards for thermal comfort: fostering low carbon building design and operation. Architectural Science Review. March 2010;53(1):78-86. (Available via Ebsco Art & Architecture Complete)
 
HISTORY
Addis, Building: 3000 years of design engineering and construction, TH15 .A33 2007
Banham, Reyner. 1969. The architecture of the well-tempered environment. Chicago: University of Chicago. TH6021 .B28 1984
"Eco-Chic: the unfashionability of ecological design," Design Book Review, #20, 1991 (Theme issue)
Ogle, Maureen. 1996. All the modern conveniences: American household plumbing, 1840-1890. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press. TH6116 .O36 1996
Ogle, Maureen. Domestic Reform and American Household Plumbing, 1840-1870. Winterthur Portfolio , Vol. 28, No. 1 (Spring, 1993), pp. 33-58 (Available via Jstor)
Willmert, Todd. Heating Methods and Their Impact on Soane's Work. Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians , Vol. 52, No. 1 (Mar., 1993), pp. 26-58 (Available via Jstor)
Wright, Lawrence, and Leon Banov. 1960. Clean and decent: the fascinating history of the bathroom & the water closet, …. New York: Viking Press. QT-240 W933c 1960
Bruegmann, Robert. Central Heating and Forced Ventilation: Origins and Effects on Architectural Design. Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians , Vol. 37, No. 3 (Oct., 1978), pp. 143-160 (Available via Jstor)
 
HVAC
Avgelis A, Papadopoulos A. On the evaluation of heating, ventilating and air conditioning systems. Advances In Building Energy Research. May 2010; 4:23-44. (Available via Ebsco Art & Architecture Complete)
Burdick, Arlan. 2012. Strategy guideline HVAC equipment sizing. [Washington, D.C.]: U.S. Dept. of Egg, Energy, Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, Building Technologies Program.
Walker, Iain S. 2003. Best practices guide for residential HVAC Retrofits. Berkeley, Calif: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
 
LIGHT
Barrett R. The Case for daylighting in architecture. Archnet-IJAR. July 2009;3 (2):6-21. (Available via Ebsco  Art & Architecture Complete)
United States, and Energy Star (Program). 2008. Lighting. Washington, DC: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
 
SITE
Leatherbarrow, David. 2000. Uncommon ground: architecture, technology, and topography. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press. NA2540.5 .L433 2002
Marsh, William M. 2005. Landscape planning: environmental applications. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. HD108.6 .M37 2005
McHarg, Ian L., Lynn Margulis, James Corner, and Brian Hawthorne. 2007. Ian McHarg: conversations with students : dwelling in nature. New York: Princeton Architectural Press. HD108.6 .M39 2007
 
SMART BUILDINGS
Albrechtslund A, Ryberg T. Participatory Surveillance in the Intelligent Building. Design Issues. Summer 2011 2011;27 (3):35-46. (Available via Ebsco Art & Architecture Complete)
Bradshaw, Vaughn. 1993. Building control systems. New York: Wiley. TH6012 .B73 2006
Lovell, Jenny. 2010. Building envelopes: an integrated approach. New York: Princeton Architectural Press. (Ebrary e-book)
Crisinel, Michel. 2007. Glass & interactive building envelopes. Amsterdam: IOS Press. (Ebrary e-book)
Fox, Michael, and Miles Kemp. 2009. Interactive architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press. (Ebrary e-book)
McCullough, Malcolm. 2004. Digital ground: architecture, pervasive computing, and environmental knowing. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press. QA76.9.A73 M45 2004
SmartHome, the “home automation superstore”
Vassigh, Shahin, and Jason R. Chandler. 2011. Building systems integration for enhanced environmental performance. Ft. Lauderdale, Fla: J. Ross Pub. (Ebrary e-book)
 
WATER
Lahiji, Nadir, and Daniel S. Friedman. 1997. Plumbing: sounding modern architecture. New York: Princeton Architectural Press. (Ebrary e-book)

Suggest resources for this page

Get oriented

It 's OK to begin research with only a vague idea of what you are looking for! Use encyclopedias, dictionaries and standard reference works to clarify terms, and get a quick overview of the important issues of your topic.

  • Oxford Reference Online
    The ideal place to start research: one-stop searching of hundreds of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias in history, humanities and the sciences

Locate articles

Print magazines are still the best source for the images of contemporary architecture--especially for finding line art, plans, sections, and details. The Kappe Library maintains 100 print subscriptions; selected current issues are in the browsing area display rack. Other titles are available on request from staff. A collection of over 3000 volumes of back issues is arranged in the stacks in alpha order by title. See Periodicals In The Collection for a complete inventory of the print magazine volumes.

Access e-articles

The following databases provide instant access to over 100 years' worth of articles from a wide variety of academic and popular magazines. SCI-Arc access to these databases is restricted to on-campus computers accessing the internet via SCI-Arc's IP address.

  • ArtSource (via Ebsco)
    A digital archive of magazine articles in the visual arts, architecture and many specialized crafts and trades. PDF articles have illustrations, HTML articles are text-only.
  • JStor
    A digital archive of almost two million articles from over 700 scholarly journals. About 4000 institutions and 500 publishers participate
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
    The most comprehensive source for full-text international newspaper and magazine articles

Access e-books

To activate full functionality, these e-book databases typically require each user to create an individual user account--only a valid e-mail address is required. SCI-Arc access to these databases is restricted to on-campus computers accessing the internet via SCI-Arc's IP address.

  • Ebrary
    An online service providing access to over 60,000 e-books from over 425 publishers, including MIT and Princeton Architectural Press. You can also access these e-books through this catalog.
  • SpringerLink e-books
    A web shelf of e-books from the publisher Springer. Only items marked with a green rectangle are accessible
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Authoritative articles on essential topics and thinkers, presented clearly and concisely

Access e-images

SCI-Arc access to these databases is restricted to on-campus computers accessing the internet via SCI-Arc's IP address.

  • ArtStor image database
    A digital library of images of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. It also provides software to view and present these images for research and teaching within copyright restrictions
  • ArchiVision Digital Research Library
    Over 60,000 images of architecture, archaeological sites, gardens, parks and works of art.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Continuously-updated authoritative information on world visual arts based on the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art
  • Art Museum Image Gallery (via Ebsco)
    An image database of art and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world, including the Louvre, the British Museum, the Hermitage, the National Anthropological Museum of Mexico, and the Library of Congress
  • Associated Press images
    Up to the minute & essential historical photographs for download
  • Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
    An image database of works of fine and decorative art from leading museums around the world (including LACMA) from 3000 BCE to the present.

Access video

Map it

SCI-Arc access to this database is restricted to on-campus computers accessing the internet via SCI-Arc's IP address.

  • Simply Map
    An online tool to help create thematic maps based on vast demographic, business and marketing data

Research materials

SCI-Arc access to this database is restricted to on-campus computers accessing the internet via SCI-Arc's IP address.

  • Material ConneXion
    A searchable database of information about new materials selected from a wide range of industries
 

Scan the headlines from Architectural Record

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip