“A Sri Lankan legacy,” & “Over the ocean: Bali, Singapore,” in Beyond Bawa by 
The Project of Independence: Architectures of Decolonization in South Asia, 1947-1985 by Digital South Asia Library (University of Chicago)
Indian Architect & Builder magazine - via Issuu
Indian Institute of Architects
Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage (INTACH)
Indian Society of Landscape Architects
Kyoorius (India-centered design portal)
Marg (Quarterly on all aspects and eras of Indian culture)
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) - available through JSTOR
SOUTH ASIA IN GENERAL
Digital South Asia Library (University of Chicago)
SOUTH ASIA TO THE 1800S
Bernier, Ronald M., Himalayan architecture, Associated University Press, NA1510.8.H56 B47 1997
Fels, Patricia Tusa, Monsoon mosques : arrival of Islam and the development of a mosque vernacular, Mapin Publishing, NA4670 .F45 2020
Khan, Ahmad Nabi, Islamic architecture in South Asia: Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Oxford University Press, NA1510.7 .N33 2003
COLONIAL TO CONTEMPORARY SOUTH ASIA
Bialobrzeski, Peter, Neontigers; photographs of Asian megacities, Hatje Cantz, TR655 .B53 2004
Carracedo, Oscar, Design resilience in Asia : thinking the unpredictable, designing with uncertainty, Actar Publishers, NA9053.E58 C37 2021
Goad, Philip, New directions in tropical Asian architecture, Periplus, NA1462 .G63 2005
Purewal, Navtej Kaur, Living on the margins: social access to shelter in urban South Asia, Ashgate, HD7287.96.S69 P87 2000
Stierli, Martino, et al (editors), The project of independence: architectures of decolonization in South Asia, 1947-1985, The Museum of Modern Art, NA1500 .P765 2022
*Afghanistan sits at the cross roads of South and Central Asia, and thus appears here and in the Kappe research guide: Architectures of Central Asia & Outer Mongolia.
“Afghanistan,” Oxford Art Online
Banti, Sara, “The stirring of consciences,” Abitare, May 2016, p.36-47 (On four works, including a maternity hospital and surgical center)
Cutuli, Mario, et al, “Half school, half fortress,” Abitare, June 2011, p.86-99 (On the Maria Grazia Cutuli School in Herat, Afghanistan)
Fontenot, Anthony & Ajmal Maiwandi, “Reconstructing Kabul: past, present and future,” Volume, 2014, #40, p.30-39
Kazimee, Bashir A. & James McQuillan, “Living traditions of the Afghan courtyard and Aiwan,” Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review, Spring 2002, p.23-34 (PDF via Jstor)
Martinez-Sève, Laurianne, “The spatial organization of Ai Khanoum, a Greek city in Afghanistan,” American Journal of Archaeology, 2014, vol. 118, #2, p.267-283
Mollard, Manon, “A woman’s place,” Architectural Review, October 2015, p.84-89
Stein, Gil J., “The war-ravaged cultural heritage of Afghanistan,” Near Eastern Archaeology, September 2015, p.187-195 (PDF via The Pearson Institute)
“Bangladesh,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 920-940
“Bangladesh, People's Republic of,” Oxford Art Online
Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Department of Architecture
Glassie, Henry, Art and life in Bangladesh, Indiana University Press, NK1050.6.B3G53 1997
Hasan, Perween, Sultans and mosques: the early Muslim architecture of Bangladesh, I. B. Tauris, NA1510.8.B36 H367 2007
Institute of Architects Bangladesh (IAB)
Ksiazek, Sarah, “Architectural culture in the fifties: Louis Kahn and the National Assembly Complex in Dhaka,” JSAH, December 1993, p.416-435 (PDF via Jstor)
“Bhutan,” Oxford Art Online
Ministry of Works and Human Settlements, Traditional Bhutanese houses II: Survey and research report of Central Region, Art Design Publishing, NA7459.B48 T733 2012
Ministry of Works and Human Settlements, Traditional Bhutanese houses III: Survey and research report of Eastern Region, proposal for community and preservation, Art Design Publishing, NA7459.B48 T733 2012
Please see "South Asia: India" section below.
Branfoot, Crispin & Anna L. Dallapiccola, “Temple Architecture in Bhatkal and the "Rāmāyaṇa" Tradition in Sixteenth-Century Coastal Karnataka,” Artibus Asiae, Vol.65, #2, 2005, p.253-308 (PDF via Jstor)
“Chin,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1051
Duncanson, William, “Transformation in the traditional Himalayan landscape: the rise of the trekking hotel in Nepal,” Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review, Spring 2002, p.7-21 (PDF via Jstor)
Gutschow, Niels, The Nepalese caitya: 1500 years of Buddhist votive architecture, Menges, NA1510.8.N42 K374 1997
MacLeod, Ewan, “Valley of Nepal,” Architectural Review, August 1963, p.[91]-94
“Nepal,” Oxford Art Online
“Nepal & East Himalayas,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1024-1044
Pal, Pratapaditya, Art of Nepal: a catalogue of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art collection, Berkeley University of California Press, N7310.8.N4L6 1985
Society of Nepalese Architects (SONA)
“Three places in Kathmandu, Nepal,” Architectural Review, March 1964, p.189-191
Williams, David, “Turche [Nepal]: a Himalayan trading town,” Architectural Review, April 1965, p.299-302
Glover, William J., Making Lahore modern: constructing and imagining a colonial city, University of Minnesota Press, 2007 (via Ebook Central)
Iftikhar, Humaira & Shaukat Mahmood, “Hindu symbolism in Sikh art: brickwork in Haveli Naunihal Singh,” Marg, September 2014, p.76-83 (Mid-19th century mansion in Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan)
“India, Northwest and Indus,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 941-960
Institute of Architects, Pakistan
“Islamabad,” Architectural Design, January 1967, p.47-[50]
Morshed, Adnan, “Modernism as postnationalist politics: Muzharul Islam’s Faculty of Fine Arts (1953-56),” JSAH, December 2017, p.532-549
Khan, Ahmad Nabi, Islamic architecture in South Asia: Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Oxford University Press, NA1510.7 .N33 2003
“Pakistan,” Oxford Art Online
Winter, John, “India & Pakistan,” Architectural Design, April 1960, p.151-157
Bawa, Geoffrey, “The traditional architecture of Ceylon,” Architectural Review, February 1966, p.[143]-144
“India, South and Sri Lanka,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 961-986
Koenignsberger, Otto H., “India, Pakistan and Ceylon,” Architectural Review, July 1960, p.53-58
Pieris, Anoma, Architecture and nationalism in Sri Lanka: the trouser under the cloth, Routledge, 2013 (ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Pieris, Anoma, “Modernism at the margins of the vernacular: considering Valentine Gunasekara,” Grey Room, #28, 2007, p.56-85
Robson, David G., Beyond Bawa: modern masterworks of monsoon Asia, Thames & Hudson, NA1511 .R63 2014
“Sri Lanka: indigenous,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.963-964
“Sri Lanka,” Oxford Art Online
Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)
Craven, Roy C., Indian Art: a concise history, Thames and Hudson, N7301.C7 1997
Dalmia, Vasudha et al, The Cambridge Companion to Modern Indian Culture, 2012 (Cambridge Companions Online)
Dharia, Namita Vijay, The industrial ephemeral : labor and love in Indian architecture and construction, University of California Press, HT147.I4 D47 2022
Fuller, Dorian Q., “Finding Plant Domestication in the Indian Subcontinent,” Current Anthropology, October 2011, p.S347-S362
Hamilton, Sue, Indian philosophy: a very short introduction, Oxford University Press, B131.B28 2001
Harle, J. C., The art and architecture of the Indian subcontinent, Yale University Press, N7301 .H23 1994
Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage (INTACH)
“Indian subcontinent,” Oxford Art Online
Kerin, Melissa R., Art and devotion at a Buddhist temple in the Indian Himalaya, Indiana University Press, 2015 (via Ebook Central)
Marg (Quarterly on all aspects and eras of Indian culture)
Sinha, Amita, Landscapes in India: forms and meanings, University Press of Colorado, SB470.55.I4 S56 2006
Varuni, Ritu-Ngapnon, The Apatani way of life : shaping a culture through bamboo, cane and land use, Routledge, DS432.A6 V37 2023
Blumenfeld, Hans, “On a Peculiar Feature of the City Plan of Mohenjo – Daro,” JSAH, January 1942, p.23-26 (PDF via Jstor)
Coomaraswamy, Ananda K., Essays in early Indian architecture, Oxford University Press, NA1502 .C75 1992
Gutschow, Niels, Benares: the sacred landscape of Varanasi, Edition Axel Menges, DS486.V37 G88 2006
Humes, Cynthia Ann, “Hindutva, Mythistory, and Pseudoarchaeology,” Numen, 2012, p.178-201 (PDF via Jstor)
“Mathura” Oxford Art Online
Schlingloff, Dieter, Fortified cities of ancient India: a comparative study, Anthem Press, 2013 (via Ebook Central)
Seshadri, M., “Palaeolithic Industry of Kibbanahalli, Mysore State,” Artibus Asiae, 1955, p.271-287 (PDF via Jstor)
Stark, Miriam, Archaeology of Asia, Blackwell Publishing, DS11.A72 2006
Acharya, Prasanna Kumar, Encyclopaedia of Hindu architecture, Cosmo Publications, NA1502.A25 1994 vols. 1 & 2
Coomaraswamy, Ananda K., Essays in early Indian architecture, Oxford University Press, NA1502 .C75 1992
Herdeg, Klaus, Formal structure in Indian architecture, Rizzoli, NA1501.H47 1990
Howard, R. W., “Step-wells at Ahmedabad,” Architectural Review, September 1967, p.227-230
“India, North and Northeast,” “India, Northwest and Indus,” “India, South and Sri Lanka,” and “Kashmir and West Himalayas,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.919-1005
Livingston, Morna, Steps to water: the ancient stepwells of India, Princeton Architectural Press, NA2542.8 .L58 2002
Merklinger, Elizabeth Schotten, Sultanate architecture of pre-Mughal India, Munshiram Manoharlal Publishers, NA1502 .M47 2005
Michell, George, Architecture and art of southern India: Vijayanagara and the successor states, Cambridge University Press, N7307.S68 M6 1995
Williams, Joanna Gottfried, The art of Gupta India: empire and province, Princeton University Press, NA6002 .W5 1982
Badawy, Alexander, “Zoomorphic shrines in Egypt and India,” JSAH, March 1959, p.27-29 (PDF via Jstor)
Deva, Krishna, Temples of India, Aryan Books International, NA6201.K75 volumes 1 & 2
Goepper, Roger, Alchi: Ladakh's hidden Buddhist sanctuary: the Sumtsek, Shambhala, NA6008.A42 G64 1996
Hardy, Adam, “Śekharī Temples,” Artibus Asiae, 2002, p.81-137 (PDF via Jstor)
Hardy, Adam, Theory and practice of temple architecture in medieval India, Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts; Dev Publishers & Distributors, NA6002 .H377 2015
Hardy, Adam, “Tradition and transformation: continuity and ingenuity in the temples of Karnataka,” JSAH, June 2001, p.180-199 (PDF via Jstor)
Huxley, Julian, “Rock-cut temples,” Architectural Review, September 1956, p.164-167
“Indian subcontinent, Section 10, Treatises,” Oxford Art Online (Discussion of the Mayamata and śilpa śāstra, or vastu śāstra texts on design, architecture and crafts)
Meister, Michael W., “Mountain temples and temple mountains: Masrur,” JSAH, March 2006, p.26-49
Merklinger, Elizabeth Schotten, Sultanate architecture of pre-Mughal India, Munshiram Manoharlal Publishers, NA1502 .M47 2005
Patel, Alka, “Architectural histories entwined: the Rudra-Mahalaya/Congregational Mosque of Siddhpur, Gujarat,” JSAH, June 2004, p.144-163 (On “architectural reuse in pre-Mughal India.”) (via Jstor)
Sinha, Ajay J., “Architectural invention in sacred structures: Vesara temples,” JSAH, December 1996, p.382-399 (PDF via Jstor)
Stierlin, Henri, Hindu India: from Khajuraho to Madurai, Taschen, NA6002 .S75 1998
Begley, W. E. & Z. A. Desai, Taj Mahal: the illumined tomb: an anthology of Mughal and European sources, Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, DS486.A3 T34 1989
Khan, Ahmad Nabi, Islamic architecture in South Asia: Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Oxford University Press, NA1510.7 .N33 2003
Koch, Ebba, “The Taj Mahal: Architecture, Symbolism, and Urban Significance,” Muqarnas, 2005, p.128-149 (PDF via Jstor)
Lambourn, “Brick, Timber, and Stone: Building Materials and the Construction of Islamic Architectural History in Gujarat,” Muqarnas, 2006, Vol.23, p.191-217 (PDF via Jstor)
Martinelli, Antonio & George Michell, Princely Rajasthan: Rajput palaces and mansions, Vendome Press, NA1507.R35 M37 2004
Michell, George, Mughal architecture & gardens, Antique Collectors’ Club, NA1502 .M534 2011
Michell, George, The New Cambridge history of India: Architecture and art of the Deccan sultanates, Cambridge University Press, N7307.N47 1987 pt. 1, vol. 7
Pande, B. M., Qutb Minar and its monuments, Oxford University Press, DS486.D3 P36 2006
Patel, Alka, “The Rudra-mahalaya mosque of Siddhpur, Gujarat,” JSAH, June 2004, p.144-163 (PDF via Jstor)
Volwahsen, Andreas, Cosmic architecture in India: the astronomical monuments of Maharaja Jai Singh II, Prestel, QB81.I4 V65 2001
Ahlawat, Deepika, “Empire of Glass: F. & C. Osler in India, 1840-1930,” Journal of Design History, Summer 2008, p.155-170 (PDF via Jstor)
Azevedo, Cardo de, “The churches of Goa,” JSAH, October 1956, p.3-6 (PDF via Jstor)
Bowe, Patrick, “Lal Bagh – the botanical garden of Bangalore and its Kew-trained gardeners,” Garden History, Winter 2012, p.228-238 (PDF via Jstor)
Chopra, Preeti, Joint enterprise: Indian elites and the making of British Bombay, University of Minnesota Press, 2011 (via Ebook Central)
Hosagrahar, Jyoti, “Mansions to margins: modernity and the domestic landscapes of historic Delhi, 1847-1910,” JSAH, March 2001, p.26-45 (via Jstor)
Mitter, Partha, “The early British port cities of India: their planning and architecture, circa 1640-1757,” JSAH, June 1986 (PDF via Jstor)
Morris, Jan, et al, Architecture of the British Empire, Vendome Press, NA964 .A73 1986
Prakash, Vikramaditya, “Between objectivity and illusion: architectural photography in the colonial frame,” JAE, September 2001, p.13-20 (PDF via Jstor)
Sinha, Amita, “Restoration of the Gomti Riverfront in Lucknow: Claude Martin’s legacy,” Marg, March 2014, p.78-87
Waits, Mira Rai, “Imperial vision, colonial prisons: British jails in Bengal, 1823-73,” JSAH, June 2018, p.146-167
Thomas, Skye A., The Bombay deco series, Art Deco Mumbai Trust, NA1508.B65 B66 2019
Beverly, Eric Lewis, “Colonial urbanism and South Asian cities,” Social History, November 2011, p.482-497 (PDF via Jstor)
Chattopadhyay, “Blurring boundaries: the limits of "White Town" in colonial Calcutta,” JSAH, June 2000
Dossal, Mariam, Imperial Designs and Indian Realities: the Planning of Bombay City 1845-1875, Oxford University Press, HT169.I52B665 1991
Association française d'action artistique, Architectures en Inde, Electa Moniteur, NA1501.A87 1985
Correa, Charles, Housing and Urbanisation, Thames & Hudson, NA1510.C67 A4 2000
D’Alfonso, Maddalena, Warm modernity: Indian architecture: building democracy, Silvana Editoriale, NA1504 .W37 2016
Desai, Madhavi, Women architects and modernism in India : narratives and contemporary practices, Routledge, NA1997 .D47 2019
Geva, Rotem, Delhi reborn : partition and nation building in India's capital, Stanford University Press, DS486.D3 G385 2022
Mehrotra, Rahul, Architecture in India since 1990, Pictor; Hatje Cantz, NA1504 .M44 2011
“New architecture in India,” Architectural Review, September 2010 (Theme issue)
Prakash, Vikramaditya, Chandigarh's Le Corbusier : the struggle for modernity in postcolonial India, University of Washington Press, NA1508.C44 P73 2002
Scriver, Peter & Amit Srivastava, India: modern architectures in history, Reaktion Books, 2016 (via Ebook Central)
Tillotson, The tradition of Indian architecture: continuity, controversy, and change since 1850, NA1503 .T55 1989
Vikramaditya, Prakash, Productions of Identity in (post)colonial Indian architecture, NA1502.V54 (Focusing on Jaipur)
Alday, Iñaki & Pankay Vir Gupta, Yamuna River Project: New Delhi urban ecology, Actar, NA9252.N48 A43 2018
D’Alfonso, Maddalena, Warm modernity: Indian architecture: building democracy, Silvana Editoriale, NA1504 .W37 2016
Llewellyn-Jones, Rosie, Lucknow: city of illusion, Prestel, DS486.L9 L83 2006
Government of India, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs
Hosagrahar, Jyoti, Indigenous modernities : negotiating architecture and urbanism, Routledge, NA1508.D5 H67 2005
Pal, Anirban, Planning from the bottom up: democratic decentralization in action, Delft University Press, 2007 (via Ebook Central)
Poiesz, Pelle, et al (editors), Learning from Delhi: practicing architecture in urban India, Mapin Publishing Ltd., NA1508.D45 L43 2015
Poiesz, Pelle, et al (editors), Learning from Mumbai: practicing architecture in urban India, Mapin Publishing Ltd., NA1508.M8 L43 2013
Prashad, Deependra, New architecture and urbanism: development of Indian traditions, Cambridge Scolars Publishers, 2010 (via Ebook Central)
Sachdev, Vibhuti & Giles Tollotson, Building Jaipur: the making of an Indian city, Reaktion, NA1508.J25 S23 2002
Sorkin, “Utopia now: India is a magnet for planned communities, from the spiritualistic to the capitalistic,” Urban Land, November/December 2002
CITIES, CHANDIGARH
Boesiger, Willy (editor), Le Corbusier, complete works, v. 05: 1946-1952, DeGruyter/Birkhauser, (Corbusier e-book collection via Kappe Library Research Guides page) (Print version in Library Office-NA1053.J4A44)
“Chandigarh,” Architectural Record, December 1956, p.187-192
Fynn, Shaun, Chandigarh revealed: Le Corbusier’s city today, Princeton Architectural Press, NA1508.C44 F96 2017
Gorlin, Alexander, “An analysis of the Governor's Palace of Chandigarh,” Oppositions, Winter/Spring 1980, #19, p.160-183
Le Corbusier Archive, Chandigarh: city and musée, Fondation Le Corbusier, NA2707.L4 A4 1982 v.25
Fry, Maxwell, “Chandigarh: new capital city,” Architectural Record, June 1955, p.139-148
Serenyi, Peter, “Timeless but of its time: Le Corbusier's architecture in India,” Perspecta 1985, Vol.55, #7-8, p.55-87
Sobti, Manu P., Chandigarh rethink: transforming ruralities & edge(ness) in global urbanities, ORO Editions, HT169.I52 C43 2017
“What Corbu has been up to: building an entire new city in India,” Architectural Forum, September 1953, p.142-149
CITIES, MUMBAI / BOMBAY
Baweja, Vandana, “Architecture and urbanism in ‘Slumdog Millionaire’: from Bombay to Mumbai,” Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review, Spring 2015, p.7-24 (via Jstor)
Dossal, Mariam, Imperial designs and Indian realities: the planning of Bombay City, 1845-1875, Oxford University Press, HT169 .I52 B665 1991
McGowan, Abigail, “Domestic modern: redecorating homes in Bombay in the 1930s,” JSAH, December 2016, p.424-446
Mukhija, Vinit, Squatters as developers?: slum redevelopment in Mumbai, Routledge, 2016 (via Ebook Central)
Patel, Sujata & Jim Masselos (editors), Bombay and Mumbai: the city in transition, Oxford University Press, HN690.B6 B64 2005
Poiesz, Pelle, et al (editors), Learning from Mumbai: practicing architecture in urban India, Mapin Publishing Ltd., NA1508.M8 L43 2013
Thomas, Skye A., The Bombay deco series, Art Deco Mumbai Trust, NA1508.B65 B66 2019
Bowe, Patrick, “Lal Bagh – the botanical garden of Bangalore and its Kew-trained gardeners,” Garden History, Winter 2012, p.228-238 (PDF via Jstor)
Herbert, Eugenia, “’This fairy creation’: the garden palace of dig in Rajasthan, India,” Garden History, Winter 2014, p.201-214 (PDF via Jstor)
Michell, George, Mughal architecture & gardens, Antique Collectors’ Club, NA1502 .M534 2011
Ruggles, D. Fairchild, “At the margins of architectural and landscape history: the Rajputs of South Asia,” Muqarnas, 2013, Vol.30, p.95-117 (PDF via Jstor)
Cooper, Ilay & Barry Dawson, Traditional buildings of India, Thames & Hudson, NA1501.C58 1998
Kolkman, Rene & Stuart Blackburn, Tribal architecture in Northeast India, Brill, 2014 (via Ebook Central)
Prashad, Deependra, New architecture and urbanism: development of Indian traditions, Cambridge Scolars Publishers, 2010 (via Ebook Central)
Varuni, Ritu-Ngapnon, The Apatani way of life : shaping a culture through bamboo, cane and land use, Routledge, DS432.A6 V37 2023
Wurster, William & Catherine Bauer, “Indian vernacular architecture: Wai and Cochin,” Perspecta, #5, 1959, p.36-48 (PDF via Jstor)
Art India (Magazine covering contemporary art)
Dehejia, Vidya, Indian art, Phaidon, N7301 .D44 1997
Lovegrove, Keith, Graphicswallah: graphics in India, Laurence King Publishing, NA998.6.I5 L58 2003
Pal, Pratapaditya, Indian Sculpture, Los Angeles County Museum of Art; University of California Press, NB1002.L67 1986
Pal, Pratapaditya, The peaceful liberators: Jain art from India, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, N8199.J36 I46 1994
Pal, Pratapaditya & Vidya Dehejia, From merchants to emperors: British artists and India 1757-1930, Cornell University Press, N8214.5.I45 P35 1986
Bowe, Patrick, “A public garden in India with English influence: Ram Niwas, Jaipur,” Garden History, Summer 2011, p.99-108 (PDF via Jstor)
Chrimes, Michael Mark, “Architectural dilettantes: construction professionals in British India 1600-1910,” Construction History, 2016, Vol.31, #1, p.99-140 (PDF via Jstor)
Chusid, Jeffrey M., “Joseph Allen Stein’s experiments in concrete in the U.S. and India,” APT Bulletin, 2017, Vol.48, #1, p.23-31 (PDF via Jstor)
Kruty, Paul Samuel, Two American architects in India: Walter B. Griffin and Marion M. Griffin, 1935-1937, School of Architecture, University of Illinois, NA737.G75 A4 1997
Smithson, Alison Margaret, Imprint of India, Architectural Association, NA997.S55 S55 1994
White, Stephen, Building in the garden: the architecture of Joseph Allen Stein in India and California, Oxford University Press, NA737.S639 W48 1993
SOUTHEAST ASIA IN GENERAL
Somers Heidhues, Mary F., Southeast Asia: a concise history, Thames & Hudson, DS525.H43 2000
SOUTHEAST ASIA TO THE 1800S
Chihara, Daigorō, Hindu-Buddhist Architecture in South East Asia, E. J. Brill, NA6011.S77 vol. 19
Fels, Patricia Tusa, Monsoon mosques : arrival of Islam and the development of a mosque vernacular, Mapin Publishing, NA4670 .F45 2020
COLONIAL TO CONTEMPORARY SOUTHEAST ASIA
ARCH+ (editors), Contested modernities: postcolonial architecture and the construction of identities in Southeast Asia, ARCH+; Birkhauser, NA3 .A68 2021
Bishop, Ryan, et al (editors), Postcolonial urbanism: Southeast Asian cities and global processes, Routledge, 2003 (via Ebook Central)
Carracedo, Oscar, Design resilience in Asia : thinking the unpredictable, designing with uncertainty, Actar Publishers, NA9053.E58 C37 2021
Dumarcay, Jacques, Architecture and its models in South-East Asia, Orchid Press, NA1511 .D86 2003
Goad, Philip, New directions in tropical Asian architecture, Periplus, NA1462 .G63 2005
Goh, Robbie B. H. & Brenda S. A. Yeoh, Theorizing the Southeast Asian city as text, World Scientific, HT384.A785 T44 2003
SEAARC Symposium, Southeast Asia's modern architecture : questions of translation, epistemology, and power, National University of Singapore, NA1511 .S43 2015
Stierli, Martino, et al. (editors), The project of independence : architectures of decolonization in South Asia, 1947-1985, The Museum of Modern Art, NA1500 .P765 2022
William S.W. Lim & Jiat-Hwee Chang, Non West modernist past : on architecture & modernities, organized and sponsored by Architectural Association Asia, Singapore Institute of Architects, NA682.M66 N663 2011
Wright, Gwendolyn, The politics of design in French colonial urbanism, University of Chicago Press, NA1590.2.M44 W75 1991 (includes Indochina)
“Brunei,” Oxford Art Online
Morley, Peter, “Brunei, Sarawak and North Borneo,” Architectural Review, July 1960, p.66, 71, 72
“Iban,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1131-1133
Albanese, Marilia, Treasures of Angkor, White Star, NA1515 .A134 2006
“Brou,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1048-1049
“Cambodia [Kampuchea],” Oxford Art Online
Cunin, Olivier, “The Bayon: interpretations continue,” Marg, December 2015 - March 2016, p.74-85 (Buddhist temples)
Higham, Charles, The civilization of Angkor, University of California Press, DS554.98.A5 H54 2001
Jessup, Helen Ibbitson, Art & architecture of Cambodia, Thames & Hudson, N7315 .J477 2004
“Khmer,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1056-1057
Laur, Jean, Angkor: an illustrated guide to the monuments, Flammarion, DS554.98.A5 L3813 2002
Mannikka, Eleanor, Angkor Wat: time, space and kingship, University of Hawaii Press, DS554.98.A5 M36 2000
Meister, Michael W., “Mountain temples and temple-mountains: Masrur,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, March 2006, [26]-49
Raggi, Franco, “Notes from Cambodia,” Abitare, May 2016, p.60-69
Rooney, Dawn, Angkor: an introduction to the temples, Odyssey, DS554.98.A5 R66 2002
Roshko, Tijen, “The floating dwellings of Chong Kneas, Cambodia,” Buildings & Landscapes: Journal of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, Fall 2011, p.43-59 (PDF via Jstor)
“Sustainable housing, Phnom Penh, Cambodia, 2013-14,” Lotus International, September 2015, p.40-41 (Competition winners)
“Vann Molyvann, 1926-2017,” A & U: Architecture & Urbanism, December 2017 (Theme issue on the Cambodian architect’s projects)
Chen, Y. R., et al, “’Conical hut’: A basic form of house types in Timor Island,” The International Archives of the Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Spatial Information Sciences, V.XL-5/W7, 2015, p.79-84 (PDF via semanticsholar.org)
“Timor, East,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1097-1098
Bradley,Tim, “Animate timbers,” Architectural Review, January 1997, p.68-73 (Vernacular architecture of Sumatra)
Davison, Julian, Introduction to Balinese architecture, Periplus; Tuttle, NA1526.6.B3 D28 2003
Dumarcay, Jacques, Cultural Sites of Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia, Oxford University Press, DS593.D86 1998
Fels, Patricia Tusa, Monsoon mosques: arrival of Islam and the development of a mosque vernacular, Mapin Publishing, NA4670 .F45 2020GA Houses [magazine], November 2017, #155, and 2016, #149 (Issues contain elevations, sections, and plans for several contemporary Indonesian homes)
Goh, Kian, “Terrains of contestation: the politics of designing urban adaptation,” Perspecta, 2017, p.63-74
Ikatan Arsitek Indonesia (Indonesian Institute of Architects)
“Indonesia, Republic of [formerly Dutch East Indies],” Oxford Art Online
“Indonesia, East,” and “Indonesia, West,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1083-1104; 1105-1125
Kusno, Abidin, Behind the postcolonial: architecture, urban space, and political cultures in Indonesia, Routledge, NA1526 .K87 2000
Kusno, Abidin, “Mosque battles and other stories,” JAE, September 2003, p.57-67
Nas, Peter J. M. (editor), The past in the present: architecture in Indonesia, NAi, NA1526 .P37 2006
Saliya, Yuswadi, et al, Expressions of Islam in Buildings, the Indonesian Experience, Aga Khan Trust for Culture of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, 1990, p. 188-196 (PDF via semanticscholar.org)
Schefold, Reimar, et al (editors), Indonesian houses: survey of vernacular architecture in western Indonesia, Brill, 2003 (via Ebook Central)
Atmadi, Parmono, Some architectural design principals of temples in Java, Gadjah Mada University Press, NA6026.6.B6 A8713 1988
“Borobudur,”Oxford Art Online
“The Conservation of Borobudur Temple,” Studies in Conservation, August 1973 (Theme issue)
“Great Stupa of Borobudur, 9th century Indonesia," Space Design, December 1983, p.57-64 (Primarily Japanese with some English text)
Nuo, Jean Louis, Borobudur, Abbeville Press, NA6026.6.B6 N6813 1996 (Oversize)
“Akha,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1047-1048
Association of Lao Architects & Engineers
Heywood, Denise, Ancient Luang Prabang, River, NA6016.2.L68 H49 2006
“Hmong,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1052
“Lao,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1057
“Laos,” Oxford Art Online
2nd sight: [University Malaya design portfolio], Dept. of Architecture, Faculty of Built Environment, University Malaya, NA1525.M3 K13 2005
Abdul Halim Nasir & Wan Hashim Wan Teh, The traditional Malay house, Fajar Bakti, NA7436 .A24 1996
Dumarcay, Jacques, Cultural Sites of Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia, Oxford University Press, DS593.D86 1998
Fels, Patricia Tusa, Monsoon mosques: arrival of Islam and the development of a mosque vernacular, Mapin Publishing, NA4670 .F45 2020
Fujita, Mari Anna, “Forays into building identity: Kampung to Kampong in the Kuala Lumpur metropolitan area,” JAE, March 2010, p.8-24 (PDF via Jstor)
Loo, Yat Ming, Architecture and urban form in Kuala Lumpur : race and Chinese spaces in a postcolonial city, Routledge, NA2543.N38 L66 2013
“Malaysia,” Oxford Art Online
Malaysian Institute of Architects
“Malaysia and Borneo,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1126-1148
Mohd Sahabuddin, Mohd Firrdhaus & Cristina Gonzalez-Longo, “Traditional values and their adaptation in social housing design,” International Journal of Architectural Research, July 2015, p.31-44 (“Air house” typology)
“Burma, rural,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p. 1049-1050
Gutman, Pamela, Burma’s lost kingdoms: splendors of Arakan, Orchid Press, DS530.8.A7 G88 2001
Hla, U Kan, “Ancient cities in Burma,” JSAH, May 1979, p.95-102 (PDF via Jstor)
Hla, U Kan, “Pagan: development and town planning,” JSAH, March 1977, p.15-29 (PDF via Jstor)
Hla, U Kan, “Traditional town planning in Burma,” JSAH, May 1978, p.92-104 (PDF via Jstor)
“Kachin,” “Karen,” and “Shan,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1053-1056; 1059-1060
“Myanmar [Burma]” Oxford Art Online
Strachan, Paul, Imperial Pagan: art & architecture of Burma, University of Hawaii Press, N8193.B93877 1990
Cabalfin, Edson G., "Appropriating the native: shifting definitions of the vernacular in twentieth-century Philippine architecture," in Design and the vernacular : interpretations for contemporary architectural practice and theory, Paul Memmott, et al (editors), Bloomsbury Visual Arts, NA1511 .D47 2023
Galende, Pedro G. & Rene B. Javellana, Great churches of the Philippines, Bookmark, NA6027 .G34 1993
Hila, Ma. Corazon A., et al, Balai vernacular: images of the Filipino’s private space, Cultural Center of the Philippines, NA7442.A1 H55 1992
Hines, Thomas S., “American modernism in the Philippines: the forgotten architecture of William E. Parsons,” JSAH, December 1973, p.316-326 (PDF via Jstor)
Keys, Harold H., “An American architect in the Philippines,” Architecture, January 1952, 36-40
Perez, Rodrigo III, “Philippine architecture,” Architecture [AIA Journal], October 1960, 40-46
“Philippines,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1191-1209
“Philippines,” Oxford Art Online
Cozier-Charles, Tamy, “Singapore: despite its compact size, the city-state is punching above its weight when it comes to sustainability,” Metropolis, September 2016, p.94-95
Dumarcay, Jacques, Cultural Sites of Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia, Oxford University Press, DS593.D86 1998
Edwards, Norman, The Singapore house and residential life 1819-1939, Oxford University Press, NA1530.S55 E33 1991
“Feature 2: The rail corridor in Singapore,” A+U, November 2018 (Theme issue)
Generalova, Elena, “Designing high-rise housing: the Singapore experience,” CTBUH, 2014, #4, p.40-45
Lye, Low Chwee (editor), 20 under 45: a selection of works by under-45 Singapore-registered architects, Urban Redevelopment Authority, NA1530.S55 A4 2004
Page, Lincoln, “Singapore,” Architectural Review, July 1960, p.65-70
Powell, Robert, Singapore: architecture of a global city, Archipelago Press, NA1530.S55 P69 2000
“Singapore,” Oxford Art Online
“Singapore, Chinese,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1145-1146
Singapore Institute of Architects (They also publish the quarterly Singapore Architect)
Association of Siamese Architects
Chua, Lawrence, Bangkok utopia : modern architecture and Buddhist felicities, 1910-1973, University of Hawai'i Press, HT169.T52 B3634 2021
Gerbeaud, Fanny, “Inhabitants of spontaneous settlements in Bangkok,” in Cities in Asia by and for the people, Yves Cabannes et al (editors), Amsterdam University Press, 2018, p.69-98 (PDF via Jstor)
Moore, Elizabeth, Ancient Capitals of Thailand, Thames & Hudson, DS567.M66 1996
Nithi Sathåapitåanon, Architecture of Thailand: a guide to traditional and contemporary forms, Didier Millet, NA1521 .N58 2013
Takkanon, Pattaranan (editor), Architectural guide Bangkok, DOM Publishers, NA1522.B36 A73 2017
“Thailand,” Oxford Art Online
“Thailand & Southeast Asia,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1045-1065
Wageman, Jim, The timeless heritage of Thailand, Silkworm Books, NA1521 .W29 2019
Warren, William, Bangkok, Reaktion, DS589.A2 W36 2002
Woodward, Hiram W., The art and architecture of Thailand: from prehistoric times through the thirteenth century, Brill, N7321 .W66 2003
Hanoi Architectural University
“Jörai,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1052-1053
Kriken, John Lund, et al, Building Saigon South: sustainable lessons for a livable future, Oro Editions, HT169.V52 S25 2016
Pham, Thuy Loan, “The meaning of creating architecture in Vietnam,” A+U: Architecture & Urbanism, July 2016, p.10-13
Phú Vinh, Phòam, Poetic significance : Sài Gòn mid-century modernist architecture, Architecture Vietnam Books, NA1514.2.H6 P48 2021
Schenck, Mel, Southern Vietnamese modernist architecture : mid-century vernacular modernism, Architecture Vietnam Books, NA1513 .S35 S6 2020
“Thailand & Southeast Asia,” Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, NA208.E53 1997 v.2, p.1045-1065
Unger, Ann Helen, Pagodas, Gods and Spirits of Vietnam, Thames & Hudson, BL2055.U5413 1997
“Viet Nam,” Oxford Art Online
“Vo Trong Nghia Architects,” A+U: Architecture & Urbanism, July 2016 (Theme issue on the firm's projects)
World Heritage Sites: Viet Nam
Wright, Gwendolyn, The politics of design in French colonial urbanism, University of Chicago Press, NA1590.2.M44 W75 1991(includes Indochina)
