Adenowo, Olajumoke, Neo Heritage: Defining Contemporary African Architecture, NA1580 .A33 2023
Adjaye, David, Adjaye, Africa, architecture : a photographic survey of metropolitan architecture, Thames & Hudson, NA1580 .A35 2016
African Arts (Quarterly journal published by UCLA, PDFs available via Jstor with a 5-year delay)
Bassani, Ezio, Arts of Africa: 7000 years of African art, Skira, N7380.5.A78 2005
Gordon, April (Editor) Understanding contemporary Africa, Rienner Publishers, DT30.5.U536 2007
Grosz-Ngaté, Maria, et al. (editors), Africa, Indiana University Press, 2014 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Iliffe, John, Africans: the history of a continent, Cambridge University Press, DT20.I45 2007
Lubell, Claire & Rafico Ruiz (editors), Fugitive archives : a sourcebook for centring Africa in histories of architecture, Canadian Centre for Architecture and Jap Sam Books, NA2273 .F84 2023
Parker, John, African history: a very short introduction, Oxford University Press, DT20.P37 2007
World heritage list: Africa (UNESCO)
Countries of Central Africa, as defined by the United Nations geoscheme, consists of: Angola, Cameroon, Central Afican Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equitorial Guinea, Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome & Principe
De Boeck, Filip, “The city and the body: an investigation of the city of Kinshasa,” Lotus International, #124, 2005, p. 12-17
De Lancey, Mark Dike, Conquest and construction: palace architecture in northern Cameroon, Brill, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
De Meulder, Bruno, Office des Cités Africaines and the Urban Question, 2005 (HTML full text via ArchNet)
“Equatorial and Central,” Olivier, Paul, et al., Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, Reference NA208.E53 1997, p. 1994
“Four buildings employing the Prouvé system,” Architectural Review, March 1952, p. 171-174
Gebauer, Paul, “Architecture of Cameroon,” African Arts, Autumn 1971, p. 40-49 (PDF via Jstor)
Lagae, Johan, “Modern living in the Congo: the 1958 Colonial housing exhibit,” Journal of Architecture, Winter 2004, p. 477-494
Meulder, Bruno de, “Mavula: an African heterotopia in Kwango, 1895-1911,” Journal of Architectural Education, September 1988, p. 20-29 (PDF via Jstor)
Nelson, Steven, From Cameroon to Paris: Mousgoum architecture in & out of Africa,University of Chicago Press, NA7467.6.C3 N45 2007
Tomás, António, In the skin of the city : spatial transformation in Luanda, Duke University Press, HT384.A52 L836 2022
World Heritage Sites in Angola, Carmeroon, Central African Republic/Oubangui-Chari, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, & Gabon (UNESCO)
Countries of East Africa, as defined by the United Nations geoscheme, consists of: Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe
Anderson. Sean, “Proving ground [Asmara, Eritrea],” Grey Room, #27, Spring 2007. p.82-103 (PDF via Jstor)
Architectural Association of Kenya (official website)
Denison, Edward, Asmara: Africa's secret modernist city, Merrell, NA1591.6.E652A83 2007
“East Africa,” Olivier, Paul, et al., Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, Reference NA208.E53 1997, p.1971
Finneran, Niall, "Built by angels? Towards a buildings archaeology context for the rock-hewn medieval churches of Ethiopia," World Archaeology, September 2009, p.415-429 (PDF via JStor)
Hebel, Dirk, et al, Addis Abada: a manifesto on African progress, Ruby Press, NA9276.7.A33 H43 2018
Jackson, Sarah, “Ethiopian devotions,” Architectural Review, June 2003, p.72-77
Lalibela’s Rock-Hewn Churches (UNESCO)
“Madagascar and Islands,” Olivier, Paul, et al., Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, Reference NA208.E53 1997, p.2053
Makerere University, Department of Architecture & Physical planning (Uganda)
Modern Architecture in East Africa around Independence (proceedings of a 2005 conference in Dar es Salaam, HTML full text via ArchNet)
Morton, P. A., Hybrid Modernities: architecture and representation at the 1931 Colonial exposition, MIT Press, NA6750.P4E956 2000
Nkomba, Ron, “One head alone cannot lift a roof,” Architectural Review, June 2003, p.67-71 (On Malawi)
University of Nairobi, Department of Architecture & Building Science (official website)
Zambia Vernacular Architecture (personal website)
World Heritage Sites in Burundi, Comoros, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritus, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, & Zimbabwe (UNESCO)
Countries of North Africa, as defined by the United Nations geoscheme, consists of: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, and Tunisia
Note: For more in-depth resources on Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco & Tunisia see Architectures of Islam & the Middle East
Angélil, Marc & Charlotte Malterre-Barthes (editors), Cairo desert cities, Ruby Press, HT169.57.E32 C353 2018
Arensen, Jonathan E., Sticks and straw: comparative house forms in southern Sudan and northern Kenya, International Museum of Cultures, GN652.S93 A73 1983
Avermaete, Tom & Maxime Zaugg (editors), Agadir : building the modern Afropolis, Park Books, NA1590.2.A33 A94 2022
Bellal, Tahar, “Spatial structure of the M'zabite home: family and gender,” Journal of Architectural & Planning Research, Spring 2007, p. 1-22 (PDF via Jstor)
Bloom, Jonathan, Architecture of the Islamic west : North Africa and the Iberian Peninsula, 700-1800, Yale University Press, NA380 .B56 2020
Carver, Norman F., North African villages: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Documan Press, NA1587.C37 1989
Fathy, Hassan, Architecture for the poor : an experiment in rural Egypt, University of Chicago Press, HN790.Q7 F33 (also available as an ebook)
“Nile and Sudan,” and “Sahara and Sahel,” Olivier, Paul, et al., Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, Reference NA208.E53 1997, p. 2080, and 2099
Roche, Manuelle, Le M’zab; architecture ibadite en Algerie, Arthaud, DT298.M9R58
Slyomovics, Susan, The walled Arab city in literature, architecture and history : the living Medina in the Magrhib, DS36.8 .W27 2001
Williams, Caroline, Islamic monuments in Cairo: the practical guide, The American University in Cairo Press, DT145 .W55 2018
Wylie, Diana, “ ‘Part of who we are’: using old buildings to foster citizenship in North Africa (Oran, Algeria, and Casablanca, Morocco),” Buildings & Landscapes: Journal of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, Vol.25, #1, 2018, p.44-63 (PDF via Jstor)
Countries of Southern Africa, as defined by the United Nations geoscheme, consists of: Botswana, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Lesotho, Namibia, and South Africa
Beall, Jo, et al., Uniting a Divided City: Governance and Social Exclusion in Johannesburg, Earthscan Publications, 2002 (ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Bloch, Robin, “Forget Europe, Forget America: architecture and apartheid,” Journal of Architectural Education, Spring 1989, p. 3-25 (PDF via Jstor)
Coetzer, Nic, Building apartheid : on architecture and order in imperial Cape Town, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016 (ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Fisher, Roger C., Architectural guide South Africa, DOM Publishers, NA1595.C3 F57 2014
Foster, Jeremy, “The Wilds and the Township: Articulating Modernity, Capital, and Socio-nature in the Cityscape of Pre-apartheid Johannesburg,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, March 2012, v.71 no.1, p.42-59 (PDF via Jstor)
Harrison, Philip, et al., Planning and transformation: learning from the post-apartheid experience, Routledge, JQ1929.P64H37 2008
International New Town Institute, et al, Cape Town : densification as a cure for a segregated city, nai010, HT384.S6 C3756 2016
Judin, Hilton, Architecture, state modernism and cultural nationalism in the apartheid capital, Routledge, NA1592.5.A63 J83 2020
Murray, Noëleen, et al., Desire lines: space, memory and identity in the post-apartheid city, Routledge, NA9053.S6D465 2007
Namibia Institute of Architects (official website)
Pöhlmann, Wolfger, et al., AmaNdebele: signals of color from South Africa, Wasmuth, ND2868.6.S62K883 1991
South African Institute of Architects (official website)
“South Central,” and “Southern Africa,” Olivier, Paul, et al., Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, Reference NA208.E53 1997, p. 2138, 2050
World Heritage Sites in Botswana, Namibia, South Africa (UNESCO)
Countries of East Africa, as defined by the United Nations geoscheme, consists of: Benin, Burkina-Faso, Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo
Belcher, Max, et al., A land and life remembered: Americo-Liberian folk architecture, Brockton Art Museum, NA1599.L4B4 1988
Blier, Suzanne Preston, The Anatomy of architecture: ontology and metaphor in Batammaliba architectural expression, Cambridge University Press, DT541.45.S65B57 1994
Bourdier, Jean-Paul, Vernacular architecture of West Africa : a world in dwelling, Routledge, NA1598 .B68413 2011
Carroll, Kevin, Architectures of Nigeria: architectures of the Hausa and Yoruba peoples, Lester Crook Academic Publishing, NA1599.N5C37 1992
DeLancey, Mark Dike, Conquest and construction: palace architecture in northern Cameroon, Brill, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
DeLancey, Mark Dike, "Localizing Fulbe architecture," Islamic Africa, Vol.5, #1, 2014 (PDF via JSTOR)
Ecole Africaine des métiers de l’architecture et de l’urbanism (EAMAU, Togo)
Farrar, Tarikhu, Building technology and settlement planning; precolonial Akan cities and towns, E. Mellen Press, DT510.43.A53F37 1996
“Guinea Coast,” “Nigerian Plateau,” and “Savannah Grasslands,” Olivier, Paul, et al., Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World, Cambridge University Press, Reference NA208.E53 1997, p. 2031, 2065, 2116
Hinchman, Mark, “House and household on Gorée, Senegal, 1758-1837,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, June 2006, p. 166-187 (PDF via Jstor)
Hinchman, Mark, Portrait of an island: the architecture and material culture of Gorée, Sénégal, 1758–1837, University of Nebraska Press, NA2543.S6 H54 2015
House, Steven & House, Cathi, Villages of West Africa, an intimate journey across time, NA1598 .H68 2018
Koolhaas, Rem, et al., Lagos wide and close: an interactive journey into an exploding city, Media shelf HN831.L3L348 2005 (DVD)
Kwame Nkrumah University, Department of Architecture (Ghana)
Larsen, Lynne Ann Ellsworth, Dahomey's royal architecture : an earthen record of construction, subjugation, and reclamation, Routledge, NA1599.D32 A26 2023
Mark, Peter, Portuguese style and Luso-African identity: precolonial Senegambia, Indiana University Press, NA7467.6.S4M37 2002 (Senegal & Niger)
Morris, James & Suzanne Preston Blier, Butabu: adobe architecture of West Africa, Princeton Architectural Press, NA1598.M67 2004 (including Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger)
Nigerian Institute of Architects (official website)
Osasona, C. O., Ornamentation in Yoruba folk architecture, Bookbuilders Editions Africa, NA1599.N5O73 2005
Ross, Doran H., “Protecting Mali's Cultural Heritage,” African Arts, Autumn 1995 (Theme issue, PDFs via Jstor)
Ross, Eric, Sufi City: urban design and archetypes in Touba, University of Rochester Press, DT549.9.T68R67 2006
Salvati, Laura, “City of mud [Mali]” Domus, March 2002, p. 62-71
Shaw, Thomas M., Irony and illusion in the architecture of imperial Dakar, Edwin Mellen Press, NA1599.S4S52 2006
Stanek, Lukasz, Architecture in global socialism : Eastern Europe, West Africa, and the Middle East in the Cold War, Princeton University Press, NA680 .S79 2020
World Heritage Sites in Benin/Dahomey, Gambia, Guinea-Bissea, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, and Togo (UNESCO)
Doxey, Denise M., Arts of Ancient Nubia, Museum of Fine Arts Boston, N5350 .D65 2018
Insoll, Timothy, Material explorations in African archaeology, Oxford University Press, 2015 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Manzo, Andrea, Eastern Sudan in its setting: the archaeology of a region far from the Nile Valley, Archaeopress, 2017 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Matobo Hills, early Stone Age site of distinctive granite formations and rock paintings (UNESCO)
Nitschke, Jessica L. & Marta Lorenzon (editors), Postcolonialism, Heritage, and the built environment : new approaches to architecture in archaeology, Springer, CC175 .P67 2020
Stahl, Ann Brower, African archaeology: a critical introduction, Blackwell Publishing, DT13.A354 2005
World Heritage Sites protected by UNESCO include: Chongoni Rock-Art Area (Malawi), Ecosystem and relict cultural landscape of Lopé-Okanda (Gabon), Khami Ruins National Monument (Zimbabwe), Kondoa rock-art sites (Tanzania)
Adjaye, David, Adjaye, Africa, architecture : a photographic survey of metropolitan architecture, Thames & Hudson, NA1580 .A35 2016
De Meulder, Bruno, Office des Cités Africaines and the Urban Question, 2005 (HTML full text via ArchNet)
Demissie, Fassil, Colonial architecture and urbanism in Africa : intertwined and contested histories, Taylor & Francis Ltd., NA1580 .C65 2012
Freund, Bill, The African city: a history, Cambridge University Press, HT148.A2A3435 2007
Hebel, Dirk, et al, Addis Abada: a manifesto on African progress, Ruby Press, NA9276.7.A33 H43 2018
International New Town Institute, et al, Cape Town : densification as a cure for a segregated city, nai010, HT384.S6 C3756 2016
Myers, Garth Andrew, African cities: alternative visions of urban theory and practice, Zed Books Ltd, 2011 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Njoh, Ambe J., Urban planning, housing, and spatial structures in Sub-Saharan Africa, Ashgate, HT169.A357N56 1999
Rao, Vyjayanthi, et al, "Invisible urbanism in Africa," Perspecta, Vol.39, 2007, p.78-91 (PDF via JSTOR)
Ross, Eric, Sufi City: urban design and archetypes in Touba, University of Rochester Press, DT549.9.T68R67 2006
Salm, Steven J., African urban spaces in historical perspective, University of Rochester Press, HT384.A35A35 2005
Taylor, Brian Brace (Editor), Reading the Contemporary African City, Aga Khan Award for Architecture, 1982 (HTML full text via ArchNet)
Tomás, António, In the skin of the city : spatial transformation in Luanda, Duke University Press, HT384.A52 L836 2022
White, Cary, et al, Africa drawn: one hundred cities, DOM Publishers, NA9273 .W45 2015
Bigon, Liora, “Urban planning, colonial doctrines and street naming in French Dakar and British Lagos, c. 1850-1930,” Urban History, December 2009, p.426-448 (PDF via JSTOR)
Cantone, Cleo, "The birth of the 'colonial mosque' : hybridity, French policy and Muslim identity (ca. 1820-1920)", in Making and remaking mosques in Senegal, Brill, 2012 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
DeCorse, Christopher R., “The Danes on the Gold Coast: culture change and the European presence,” The African Archaeological Review, Vol.11, 1993, p.149-173 (PDF via JSTOR)
Demissie, Fassil, Colonial architecture and urbanism in Africa : intertwined and contested histories, Taylor & Francis Ltd., NA1580 .C65 2012
Denison, Edward, Asmara: Africa's secret modernist city, Merrell, NA1591.6.E652A83 2007
Harris, Richard & Garth Myers, “Hybrid Housing: Improvement and Control in Late Colonial Zanzibar,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, December 2007, p.476-493 (PDF via JSTOR)
Hinchman, Mark, “House and household on Gorée, Senegal, 1758-1837,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, June 2006, p.166–87 (PDF via JSTOR)
Hinchman, Mark, Portrait of an island: the architecture and material culture of Gorée, Sénégal, 1758–1837, University of Nebraska Press, NA2543.S6 H54 2015
Lagae, Johan, “Modern living in the Congo: the 1958 Colonial housing exhibit,” Journal of Architecture, Winter 2004, p. 477-494
Micots, Courtnay, “Status and mimicry: African colonial period architecture in coastal Ghana,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, March 2015, p.41-62 (PDF via JSTOR)
Peabody, Rebecca, et al (editors), Visualizing empire : Africa, Europe and the politics of representation, Getty Research Institute, JV1811 .V57 2021
Radford, Dennis, “The early history of the tall building in the South African city,” Construction History, Vol.14, 1998, p.41–58 (PDF via Jstor)
Schellekens, Jona, “A note on the Dutch origins of South African colonial architecture,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, June 1997, p.204-206
Serrazina, Beatriz, “Crossed cultures in Lunda, Angola: Diamang’s urban project and its legacies,” Traditional Dwellings and Settlements Review, Vol.31, #2, 2020, p.23–34
Verheij, Gerbert, “Art and politics in the former “Portuguese colonial empire”: the monument to Mouzinho de Albuquerque in Lourenço Marques,” RIHA Journal, January 2013 (PDF via academia.edu)
Alvim, Fernando, et al (editors), Next flag : the African sniper reader, JRP/Ringier, N7380.5 .N498 2005
Banz, Claudia, et al (editors), Connecting Afro futures : fashion x hair x design, Kerber / Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin, NK1487 .C66 2019
Hess, Janet Berry, Art and architecture in postcolonial Africa, McFarland & Co., N72.N38 H47 2006
Kasfir, Sidney Littlefield, Contemporary African art, Thames & Hudson, N7380 .K36 2020
Kries, Mateo & Amelie Klein (editors), Making Africa : a continent of contemporary design, Vitra Design Museum, NK1487 .M3513 2015
Njami, Simon, et al., Africa remix: contemporary art of a continent, Hatje Cantz, N7380.5.A27 2005
Njami, Simon & Elena Motisi, African metropolis : una città immaginaria / African metropolis : an imaginary city, Corraini Edizioni, N7380 .A37 2018
Soyinka, Wole, Beyond aesthetics : use, abuse, and dissonance in African art traditions, Yale University Press, N7380 .S675 2019
See also: contemporary African artists represented in the Imago Mundi project, Luciano Benetton Collection:
CENTRAL AFRICA
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Cameroon : elephants with wings : contemporary artists from Cameroon, Fabrica, N7399.C3 2016
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Democratic Republic of Congo : the giant is awake : contemporary artists from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Fabrica, N7399.C6 D46 2014
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Art in transition : contemporary artists from Guinea-Bissau/Guinea-Conakry, Antiga Edizioni, N7399.P6 .A78 2017
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Art that breaks the isolation : contemporary artists from Djibouti, Central African Republic and Chad, Fabrica, N7380 .A77 2016
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Gabon : eternal black mother : contemporary artists from Gabon, Fabrica, N7399.G25 2015
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Republic of the Congo : breaking the boundaries : contemporary artists from the Republic of the Congo, Fabrica, N7399.C7 .R46 2014
Prina, Paolo (curator), Supernatural : contemporary Aka Bayaka Pygmy artists, Antiga Edizioni, N7399.C4 .S87 2017
EASTERN AFRICA
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Eritrea / freedom is an art : contemporary artists from Eritrea, Fabrica, N7386.2 .E75 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Kenya, Tanzania, Zanzibar : the witchcraft of art : contemporary artists from Kenya, Tanzania and Zanzibar, Fabrica, N5273.2.B465 K46 2013
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Madagascar / the great island : contemporary artists from Madagascar, Fabrica, N7397.6.M3 .M335 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Mozambique : the universe in miniature : contemporary artists from Mozambique, Fabrica, N7397.6.M6 .M69 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Selamta Ethiopia : contemporary artists from Ethiopia, Fabrica, N7386.3.G48 .S45 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Sudan aesthetic vestiges : contemporary artists from Sudan, Fabrica, N7397.S8 .S83 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Uganda / Rwanda / Burundi : traces of the past, signs of the future : contemporary artists from Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi, Fabrica, N7397 .U43 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Zambia, implosion for explosion : contemporary artists from Zambia, Fabrica, N7396.6.Z3 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Zimbabwe : occupation, artist : contemporary artists from Zimbabwe, Fabrica, N7396.6.R5 Z45 2014
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Malawi : warm heart of Africa : contemporary artists from Malawi, Fabrica, N7397 .M25 2015
NORTHERN AFRICA
Benedetti, Emanuele (curator), Algeria : more or less : contemporary artists from Algeria, Fabrica, N7388 .A44 2015
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Egypt, the cradle of art : contemporary artists from Egypt, Fabrica, N7381 .E39 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Morocco, the surprise of absence : contemporary artists from Morocco, Fabrica, N7390 .M67 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Sudan aesthetic vestiges : contemporary artists from Sudan, Fabrica, N7397.S8 .S83 2014
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Libya : hurriya : contemporary artists from Libya, Antiga Edizioni, N7389 .L53 2016
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Under the tent : contemporary Sahrawi and Tuareg artists from the Sahara, Antiga Edizioni, N7380.5 .U53 2017
Souissi, Leila, et al, Tunisia, turbulences : contemporary artists from Tunisia, Fabrica, N7391 .T86 2014
SOUTHERN AFRICA
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Botswana : the river of art : contemporary artists from Botswana, Fabrica, N7396.6.B6 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Namibia : land of memories and more : contemporary artists from Namibia, Fabrica, N7394.N3 N365 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, South Africa, 10 x 12 @ SA : contemporary artists from South Africa, Fabrica, N7393 .S68 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Swaziland / Lesotho, the wonder of art : contemporary artists from Swaziland / Lesotho, Fabrica, N7396.6.Z3 2014
Bossan, Enrico (editor), The bushmen of the Kalahari : contemporary artists of the Kalahari desert from Botswana, Namibia and South Africa, Fabrica, DT1058.S36 2015
WESTERN AFRICA
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Go go Ghana! : contemporary artists from Ghana, Fabrica, N7399.G5 .G624 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Ivory Coast : the return of the elephants : contemporary artists from the Ivory Coast, Fabrica, N7399.I8 I86 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Liberia and Sierra Leone : the everyday struggle : contemporary artists from Liberia and Sierra Leone, Fabrica, N7398 .L53 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Madagascar / the great island : contemporary artists from Madagascar, Fabrica, N7397.6.M3 .M335 2014
Benetton, Luciano, et al, Senegal : Dokh Dadjé : contemporary artists from Senegal, Fabrica, N7399.S4 S46 2013
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Benin/Togo : the revenge of art : contemporary artists from Benin and Togo, Fabrica, N7398 .B46 2014
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Burkina Faso/Union : contemporary artists from Burkina Faso, Fabrica, N7399.B87 2015
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Mali : art between history and myth : contemporary artists from Mali, Fabrica, N7399.M3 M25 2015
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Niger : art in the desert : contemporary artists from Niger, Fabrica, N7398 .N44 2015
Bossan, Enrico (editor), Nigeria / roots : contemporary artists from Nigeria, Fabrica, N7399.N5 .N54 2014
Coslett, Daniel E. (editor), Neocolonialism and built heritage: echoes of empire in Africa, Asia, and Europe, Routledge, NA2543.I47 N46 2020
Digital Benin, "focuses on objects looted by British forces from the Kingdom of Benin (now Edo State, Nigeria) in February 1897 and distributed in its immediate aftermath." The platform connects objects with "oral histories, object research, historical context, a foundational Edo language catalogue," etc.
Djerbi, Ali, "Teaching the history of architecture in Algeria, Tunisia, and Morocco: colonialism, independence, and globalization," Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, March 2003, p.102-109 (PDF via JSTOR)
Marchand, Trevor H. J., "The Djenne Mosque: world heritage and social renewal in a West African town," APT Bulletin, Vol.46, #2/3, 2015, p.4-15 (PDF via JSTOR)
Okoye, Ikem Stanley, “Architecture, history, and debate on identity in Ethiopia, Ghana, Nigeria, and South Africa,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, September 2002, p.381-396 (PDF via JSTOR)
Ross, Doran H., “Protecting Mali's Cultural Heritage,” African Arts, Autumn 1995 (Theme issue, PDFs via Jstor)
Wylie, Diana, “ ‘Part of who we are’: using old buildings to foster citizenship in North Africa (Oran, Algeria, and Casablanca, Morocco),” Buildings & Landscapes: Journal of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, Vol.25, #1, 2018, p.44-63 (PDF via JSTOR)
Bourdier, Jean-Paul, Vernacular architecture of West Africa : a world in dwelling, Routledge, NA1598 .B68413 2011
Couch, Dora P. & June G. Johnson, Traditions in architecture : Africa, America, Asia, and Oceania, Oxford University, NA208 .C75 2001
DeLancey, Mark Dike. “Localizing Fulbe Architecture,” Islamic Africa, Vol.5, #1, 2014, p.1–43 (PDF via Jstor)
Huntar, Oluwatoyin, Traditional African environments : the science, the history, the thought processes, Touché (Nigeria) Ltd., NA1580 .H86 1992
Nelson, Steven, From Cameroon to Paris : Mousgoum architecture in & out of Africa, The University of Chicago Press, NA7467.6.C3 N45 2007
Osasona, C. O., Ornamentation in Yoruba folk architecture : a catalogue of architectural features, ornamental motifs and techniques, Bookbuilders, Editions Africa, NA1599.N5 O73 2005
Prussin, Labelle, African Nomadic Architecture: space, place & gender, Smithsonian Institution Press, NA7461.A1P78 1995
Prussin, Labelle, “An introduction to Indigenous African architecture,” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Vol.33, #3, 1974, p.183–205 (PDF via Jstor)
"Vernacular architecture, II. Regional Survey, 9. Africa" (Oxford Art Online)
Chance, Kerry Ryan, "Slum as infrastructure : how the politics of informality shapes South Africa's world-class cities," in Spatializing politics : essays on power and place, Wendel & Aidoo (editors), Harvard Graduate School of Design, HM654 .S67 2015
Harrison, Philip, et al (editors), Changing space, changing city : Johannesburg after apartheid, Wits University Press, 2014 (Ebook via Ebook Central)
Heisel, Felix & Bisrat Kifle (editors), Lessons of informality : architecture and urban planning for emerging territories - concepts from Ethiopia, Birkhauser Basel, NA9276.7.A33 2016
Huchzermeyer, Marie, Cities with 'slums': from informal settlement eradication to a right to the city in Africa, UCT Press, 2011 (Ebook via Ebook Central)
Abbott, John, Green infrastructure for sustainable urban design in Africa, Earthscan, 2012 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Doherty, Jacob, Waste worlds : inhabiting Kampala's infrastructures of disposability, University of California Press, HD4485.U332 K36 2022
Gauthier, Aimee & Annie Weinstock, "Africa: transforming paratransit in BRT," Built Environment, Vol.36, #3, 2010, p.317-327 (PDF via JSTOR)
Gwilliam, K. M., Africa's transport infrastructure: mainstreaming maintenance and management, Worldbank, 2011 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Jacobsen, Michael, et al (editors), The future of water in African cities, World Bank, 2013 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Kissi, Ernest, Emerging Debates in the Construction Industry : The Developing Nations' Perspective, CRC Press LLC, 2023 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Lopes, Carlos, "Africa's infrastructure appetite," in Infrastructure space, edited by Ilka & Andreas Ruby, Ruby Press, HC79.C3 I54 2017
Blake, Cecil A., The African origins of rhetoric, Routledge, 2009 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Collier, Gordon (editor), African cultures and literatures : a miscellany, Rodopi, 2013 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Creary, Nicholas M. (editor), African intellectuals and decolonization, Ohio University Press, 2012 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Ekotto, Frieda & Kenneth W. Harrow (editors), Rethinking African cultural productions, Indiana University Press, 2015 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Eze, Chielozona, Postcolonial imaginations and moral representations in African literature and culture, Lexington Books, 2011 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Eze, Emmanuel Chukwudi (editor), African philosophy : an anthology, Blackwell Publishers, B5305 .A36 1998
Eze, Emmanuel Chukwudi (editor), Postcolonial African philosophy : a critical reader, Blackwell Publishers, B5320 .P67 1997
Marback, Richard, Managing vulnerability : South Africa's struggle for a democratic rhetoric, University of South Carolina Press, 2012 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Olaniyan, Tejumola, African literature: an anthology of criticism and theory, Blackwell Publishing, PL8010.A353 2007
Zegeye, Abebe & Maurice Vambe, Close to the sources : essays on contemporary African culture, politics, and academy, Routledge, 2009 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Beardsley, John (editor), Cultural landscape heritage in Sub-Saharan Africa, Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, SB469.35.A35 D86 2016
Sheridan, Michael J., "The environmental and social history of African sacred groves: a Tanzanian case study," African Studies Review, April 2009, p.73-98 (PDF via JSTOR)
World Heritage cultural landscapes preserved by UNESCO include: Ennedi Massif (Chad), Konso (Ethiopia), Ecosystem and relict cultural landscape of Lopé-Okanda (Gabon), Le Morne (Mauritius), Sukur (Nigeria), Bassari, Fula & Bedik Cultural landscapes (Senegal), ǂKhomani, Mapungubwe, and Richtersveld Cultural & Botanical Landscape (South Africa)
Chirikure, Shadreck, Metals in past societies : a global perspective on indigenous African metallurgy, Springer International Publishing AG, 2015
Farrar, Tarikhu, Precolonial African material culture : combatting stereotypes of technological backwardness, Lexington Books, T28.A357 F377 2020
Mawere, Munyaradzi, et al (editors), African museums in the making : reflections on the politics of material and public culture in Zimbabwe, Langaa RPCIG, 2015 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Rarey, Matthew Francis, Insignificant things : amulets and the art of survival in the early Black Atlantic, Duke University Press, NK1080 .R36 2023
Wynne-Jones, Stephanie, A material culture : consumption and materiality on the coast of precolonial east Africa, Oxford University Press, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Adenowo, Olajumoke, Neo Heritage: Defining Contemporary African Architecture, NA1580 .A33 2023
Denison, Edward, Asmara: Africa's secret modernist city, Merrell, NA1591.6.E652A83 2007
“Four buildings employing the Prouvé system,” Architectural Review, March 1952, p. 171-174
Herz, Manuel (editor), African modernism : the architecture of independence : Ghana, Senegal, Côte d'Ivoire, Kenya, Zambia, The University of Chicago Press, NA1580 .A37 2015
Judin, Hilton, Architecture, state modernism and cultural nationalism in the apartheid capital, Routledge, NA1592.5.A63 J83 2020
Lagae, Johan, “Modern living in the Congo: the 1958 Colonial housing exhibit,” Journal of Architecture, Winter 2004, p. 477-494
Lubell, Claire & Rafico Ruiz (editors), Fugitive archives : a sourcebook for centring Africa in histories of architecture, Canadian Centre for Architecture and Jap Sam Books, NA2273 .F84 2023
Morton, P. A., Hybrid Modernities: architecture and representation at the 1931 Colonial exposition, MIT Press, NA6750.P4E956 2000
Cantone, Cleo, "Regionalism, revivals and repercussions on Senegalese mosques (ca. 1920-1950s)", in Making and remaking mosques in Senegal, Brill, 2012 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
Cohen, Jean-Louis, The future of architecture, since 1889, Phaidon, NA2540 .C57 2012
Herz, Manuel (editor), African modernism : the architecture of independence : Ghana, Senegal, Côte d'Ivoire, Kenya, Zambia, The University of Chicago Press, NA1580 .A37 2015
Hess, Janet Berry, Art and architecture in postcolonial Africa, McFarland & Co., N72.N38 H47 2006
Hess, Janet Berry, “Imagining architecture: the structure of nationalism in Accra, Ghana,” Africa Today, Spring 2000, Vol.47, #2, p.35-38 (PDF via JSTOR)
Judin, Hilton, Architecture, state modernism and cultural nationalism in the apartheid capital, Routledge, NA1592.5.A63 J83 2020
Tomkinson, Joanne, et al, Architecture and politics in Africa, James Currey [publisher], 2022 (PDF available to download via Boydell & Brewer Open Access)
DeLancey, Mark Dike, Conquest and construction: palace architecture in northern Cameroon, Brill, 2016 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Falade, J. B., "Yoruba Palace Gardens," Garden History, Vol.18, #1, 1990, p.47-56 (PDF via JSTOR)
Larsen, Lynne Ann Ellsworth, Dahomey's royal architecture : an earthen record of construction, subjugation, and reclamation, Routledge, NA1599.D32 A26 2023
Monroe, J. Cameron, "In the belly of Dan: space, history, and power in precolonial Dahomey," Current Anthropology, December 2011, p.769-798 (PDF via JSTOR)
Shaw, Thomas M., Irony and illusion in the architecture of imperial Dakar, Edwin Mellen Press, NA1599.S4S52 2006
World Heritage Sites protected by UNESCO include: Mbanza Kongo, Vestiges of the Capital of the former Kingdom of Kongo (Angola), Royal Palaces of Abomey (Benin)
ArCHIAM, “Lecture 3: Ports and Centres of Exchange,” 2018 (Downloadable Powerpoint. Part 3 of 10 presentations developed for the Aga Khan Trust for Culture Education Programme)
Chapman, William. "Slave villages in the Danish West Indies: changes of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries," Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture, #4, 1991, p.108-120 (PDF via JSTOR)
Cohen, Jean-Louis, Casablanca: colonial myths and architectural ventures, Monacelli Press, NA1590.2.C37 C6513 2002
De Silva, Chandra Richard, “Indian Ocean but not African Sea: the erasure of East African commerce from history,” Journal of Black Studies, Vol.29, #5, 1999, pp.684–94 (PDF via Jstor)
Hernæs, Per, “A symbol of power: Christiansborg Castle in Ghanaian history,” Transactions of the Historical Society of Ghana, #9, 2005, p.141-156 (PDF via JSTOR)
Hoyle, Brian, “Urban renewal in East African port cities: Mombasa’s old town waterfront,” GeoJournal, 2001, Vol.53, #2, p.183- 196 (PDF via JSTOR)
Jordan, Coleman A.,“Rhizomorphics of race and space: Ghana’s slave castles and the roots of African diaspora identity,” Journal of Architectural Education, 1984-), May 2007, p.48–59 (PDF via JSTOR)
Lawrence, A.W., Trade Castles and Forts of West Africa, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, 1964 (PDF of book via JSTOR)
Nelson, Louis P., “Architectures of West African enslavement,” Buildings & Landscapes: Journal of the Vernacular Architecture Forum, Vol.21, #1, 2014, p.88–125 (PDF via JSTOR)
Raymond, Catharine, "Review: The forts and castles of West Africa," Africa Today, December 1964, p.17-19 (PDF via JSTOR)
World Heritage Sites protected by UNESCO include: Forts and castles of Greater Accra (Ghana), Kunta Kinteh Island and related sites (Gambia), Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani & Ruins of Songo Mnara (Tanzania), Stone Tower of Zanzibar (Tanzania)
Coslett, Daniel E. (editor), Neocolonialism and built heritage: echoes of empire in Africa, Asia, and Europe, Routledge, NA2543.I47 N46 2020
Djerbi, Ali, "Teaching the history of architecture in Algeria, Tunisia, and Morocco: colonialism, independence, and globalization," Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, March 2003, p.102-109 (PDF via JSTOR)
Hess, Janet Berry, Art and architecture in postcolonial Africa, McFarland & Co., N72.N38 H47 2006
Nitschke, Jessica L. & Marta Lorenzon (editors), Postcolonialism, Heritage, and the built environment : new approaches to architecture in archaeology, Springer, CC175 .P67 2020
Stanek, Lukasz, Architecture in global socialism: Eastern European, West Africa, and the Middle East in the Cold War, Princeton University Press, NA680 .S79 2020
Bourgeois, Jean-Louis, “The history of the Great Mosques of Djenné,” African Arts, Vol.20, #3, 1987, p.54–92 (PDF via Jstor)
Cantone, Cleo, Making and remaking mosques in Senegal, Brill, 2012 (Ebook via Proquest Ebook Central)
DeLancey, Mark Dike, "Localizing Fulbe architecture," Islamic Africa, Vol.5, #1, 2014 (PDF via JSTOR)
Di Salvo, Mario, The basilicas of Ethiopia : an architectural history, I. B. Tauris, NA6086 .D57 2017
Fitzgerald, Mary Anne, et al, Ethiopia : the living churches of an ancient kingdom, The American University in Cairo Press, NA6086 .E85 2017
Gharipour, Mohammad (editor), Synagogues in the Islamic world : architecture, design, and identity, Edinburgh University Press, 2017 (via Proquest Ebook Central)
Marchand, Trevor H. J., "The Djenne Mosque: world heritage and social renewal in a West African town," APT Bulletin, Vol.46, #2/3, 2015, p.4-15 (PDF via JSTOR)
Sudanese style mosques in northern Côte d'Ivoire (UNESCO)
World Heritage sites protected by UNESCO include traditional African religious sites: Osun-Osogbo Sacred Grove (Nigeria), and Asante traditional buildings (Ghana)
Amoah, Lloyd, "China, architecture and Ghana's spaces: concrete signs of a soft Chinese imperium?" Journal of Asian and African Studies, August 2014, p.238-255 (PDF via researchgate.net)
Angelil, Marc & Cary Siress, "Addis through the looking glass," Log, #12, Spring/Summer 2008, p.99-104 (PDF via JSTOR)
Chungu, Gerald & Romain Dittgen, "Ways of (de)constructing and shaping a city: urban shifts and materiality in dialogue with global China in Lusaka, Zambia," Africa Development, Vol.46, #4, 2021, p.1-26 (PDF via JSTOR)
Roskam, Cole, "Non-aligned architecture: China's designs on and in Ghana and Guinea, 1955-92," Architectural History, Vol.58, 2015, p.261-291 (PDF via JStor)
Wood, Hannah, "Sino-African architecture; a look at the rise of Chinese-built projects across the African continent," Archinect, February 18, 2020
Goff, Samuel, "Building blocs: how Ghana's architecture was reimagined with a little help from communist Europe," The Calvert Journal, February 4, 2016 (Part of a special report: "Red Africa: exploring the legacy of international socialist relations with Africa in art, film, architecture and music.")
Stanek, Lukasz, "Architects from Socialist countries in Ghana (1957-67): Modern architecture and Mondialisation," Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, December 2015, p.416-442 (PDF via JStor)
Stanek, Lukasz, Architecture in global socialism: Eastern European, West Africa, and the Middle East in the Cold War, Princeton University Press, NA680 .S79 2020
Bourdier, Jean-Paul, Vernacular architecture of West Africa : a world in dwelling, Routledge, NA1598 .B68413 2011
Elleh, Nnamdi, African Architecture: evolution and transformation, McGraw-Hill, NA1580.E44 1996
House, Steven & House, Cathi, Villages of West Africa, an intimate journey across time, NA1598 .H68 2018
Osasona, C. O., Ornamentation in Yoruba folk architecture, Bookbuilders Editions Africa, NA1599.N5O73 2005
Prussin, Labelle, African Nomadic Architecture: space, place & gender, Smithsonian Institution Press, NA7461.A1P78 1995
